Daily Prompt: Kick It

Standard

English: Freestyle skiing jump

English: Freestyle skiing jump (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

WordPress Blog Prompt: What’s the 11th item on your bucket list?

Well I don’t actually have a bucket list written down but I do have several things I’ve always wanted to do like hang-gliding, riding a hot air balloon, go to Italy…etc.  I have always wanted to go skiing and I live in Alaska and have never gotten to go.  I really wish I had gone when I was younger and before I got fibromyalgia.  Now, I’ll probably never be able to do it.

A friend of mine just went skiing.  I saw her pictures online and was so excited for her…. Then, I was jealous.  I really REALLY wanted to go and my husband doesn’t want to go down hill skiing.  He tried it before and had a miserable time.  He only likes cross-country skiing.  I talked to my friend and she said I could go with her.  She was going yesterday with her son who was in town anyway.  I told my husband I was going to go when he came out and he talked me out of it.  He was really worried about how I would feel afterwards.  I knew I would have pain from it and I was thinking I could just bite the bullet you know?  Well, he reminded me of some of the more difficult times I’ve had when all I did was get cold.  He said, not only would I get cold but I would be exercising more than I’m used it.  Way more since my muscles have shrunk down to nothing.  So, I listened to my guidance councilor and didn’t go.  After all, he is the one who has always been there by my side when I was down.  He remembers how it was and I tend to tune it out.  I want to think I’m still She-ra, princess of Power!!!  I knew he was probably right and I’m not as tough as I think I am anymore.  Pooh.

So now I’m going to put on my wii and skii!  hehe  <— I’m a poet and I know it!

3 responses »

  1. I am sorry you have this fibromyalgia. one of my g/f has it and she suffers so much with it. I have neuropathy from my diabetes in my hands and feet. I am a caregiver for many years. feel free to stop by anytime and chat. thank you for the ping back

  2. Pingback: DREAM BIG « hastywords

Let me know what you think of this post.

