Global Green USA Green School Makeover Competition Presented by Pureology

Standard

Thank God men cannot fly, and lay waste the sky as well as the earth.  ~Henry David Thoreau

How Green is the school your children go to?  Are they being as resourceful as possible so your children have the best environment to learn in and so future children will too?  With the right changes a school can save money on energy costs and be able to funnel that money back into important educational materials and programs.

Pureology is presenting the Global Green USA Green School Makeover Competition to help one lucky school make those changes by awarding $75,000 in funding and providing technical assistance to get the job done properly.  If you visit the link provided you can also see what was done for the winning school in 2012, Texas School for the Deaf (TSD) in Austin, TX, and how those changes helped their school.

When important programs like P.E. and music are always at risk, schools could save the money needed to fund them by making changes to make their building more energy and cost efficient.  I think we owe it to our children to do the best we can – for this generation and future generations.

English: Lathrop High School in Fairbanks, Ala...

English: Lathrop High School in Fairbanks, Alaska, the main high school in the community. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I am going to enter my son’s school which I know is a very old building in need of vital upgrades.  Lathrop High School is the largest school in Fairbanks, Alaska and serves a lot of central Alaska and military families.  It was built in 1955.  I am going to do my best to present their best face in my application for them because I know operating a school in this cold climate isn’t easy.  The staff work very hard and I know they would appreciate the chance to make the environmental footprint of their school smaller to ensure it will be there for future generations.

Visit the link above and enter your child’s school.  Every school deserves the help but we have to start somewhere.

Don’t blow it – good planets are hard to find.  ~Quoted in Time

Quotes from Quote Garden

Special thanks to Influenster to sharing this information with me and to WordPress Writing Challenge: Map It Out for showing me how to add a map to my blog post.

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: {Weekly Writing Challenge} Map it out! « 3rdculturechildren

  2. We are practically related! Well, my Mom grew up in Fairbanks (Nordale Elementary, then ??, then U of A Fairbanks). I bet you recognize some of the streets mentioned in my blog about the Great Flood, the places are probably gone (http://audthebroad.blogspot.com/2012/12/family-stories-fairbanks-great-flood-of.html).

    I love that you are trying to help your sons school. I think being in Alaska would present an interesting challenge, solar works great in the summer, not so much in January. Good Luck!

Let me know what you think of this post.

