Sadako Sasaki and 1,000 paper cranes

Standard

I have been holding on to this newspaper from Sunday, June 8, 2008 because of a story about a little girl named Jenna and her quest to make 1,000 paper cranes for a cancer patient.  It is such a truly inspiring story written by columnist Dermot Cole in the Fairbanks Daily Newsminer and it hit me like a ton of bricks!  I am a member of Soldiersangels.org , an organization that connects people with soldier’s abroad.  Members of soldiers angels write letters and send packages to soldiers who may not have family to support them.  I am part of the letter writing committee for the wounded soldiers called “wounded TLC”.  I’ve been trying to think of something to send in my letters and this is it!  I am going to learn more about little Sadako Sasaki and how to make a paper crane.  You can watch a video that tells the story on youtube.com.  click here  I’ll make a paper crane to put in every letter I send to a wounded soldier as a symbol of strength, courage, and hope….. and as I fold them I’ll remember the words of the poem by Michiko PumpianThis poem is posted on the Sadoku.org website. 

I know I have been inspired by this little girl named Jenna and I’ll take on the quest to make 1,000 paper cranes for our soldiers.  With every one I send I’ll be wishing them hope and courage to live on through their struggles to be well or to cope with their new limitations and painful memories.  When I get to 1000 my wish will be for peace and for the soldiers to come home and then I’ll keep making them until they do.

 

The paper crane
Fold the crane with love
Each crease that you stroke
Think about the world around you
Fold the crane with love
Each fold that you touch
Feel about the world around you
Fold a paper crane with love 

By Michiko Pumpian

 

One response »

  1. Pingback: Hooah Wife and friends » Blog Archive » Soldiers Angels Web Surfing

Let me know what you think of this post.

