the mirror

Standard

I look in the mirror and I see you
looking at me the way you used to
with knowing eyes concealed in pain
and lips, unmoving, that spoke so plain.
I haven’t forgotten how I made you cry
when I said that I lied.
But you knew that I lied
when I cried.
I haven’t forgotten
that you slept with the devil
while you prayed for his soul
and how you cried
while you watched me go.
I look in the mirror and I see you
looking at me the way you used to
with knowing eyes concealed in pain
and lips, unmoving,
that understood.

2/9/09  DCapps (aka bug)

This poem has been rattling around in my head for a long while now.  I have several different versions with the same first verse scribbled in notebooks.  This is the first time it seemed right……. although I know no one will really understand it.  I don’t care.  It just doesn’t matter anymore.

One response »

Let me know what you think of this post.

