inward smiles

Standard

I saw someone today that I hadn’t seen in a long while.  I didn’t stop and say hi or let then know I saw them.  I just smiled to myself and thought how much better my life is that I moved on.  Sometimes God tries to tell us we need to move on and we are just not ready to listen until he reaches out and smacks you in the face.  Anyway, this person I saw wasn’t someone that did anything aweful, she is just someone from a time and place I moved on from.  It made me stop and think about how much happier I have been since then.  If I didn’t move on I would still be miserable.  I learned to be thankful for those God smacks.

I wrote this poem back then…

Thank you,
For not believing in me,
For not giving me the chance
To show what I can be.

Thank you,
For giving me false hope
And for giving me a vision
With such a narrow scope.

Thank you,
For always letting me down.
Time after time you gave
Counsel to a clown.

Thank you,
For now I know,
There is so much more to life
Beyond this damn plateau.

Thank you,
For now I think I’ll do
All the things I would have missed
If I didn’t bid to you…

adieu.

One response »

Let me know what you think of this post.

