Project Linus

Standard

I recently read about Project Linus on www.anniesattic.com.  They provide a wonderful listing of Charities that use homemade items.  Annie’s Attic also provide patterns for some of these items as well.  I think it’s a wonderful thing that they do besides the “free pattern of the day”.  I am addicted to checking the free pattern EVERY SINGLE DAY!  I love to create things but I also love to help others, especially children, so I looked into Project Linus. 

Project Linus is based on the character “Linus” from Peanuts who always carried around a blanket.  The concept is to provide comfort to children who have been abused or suffered from some sort of trauma by giving them their own homemade blanket.   

I discovered that there is a chapter here but they are in Anchorage and there was no one to represent the Fairbanks area.  I have decided to work with the Alaska Chapter and represent Fairbanks.  I have contacted 3 places who will gladly accept blankets for the children they see. 

  1. American Red Cross Tanana Valley Chapter
  2. Interior Alaska Center for Non-Violent Living
  3. Fairbanks Memorial Hospital Emergency Room

Now I just need some Blanketeers to help build up the blanket stash so we can keep them supplies.  Please contact me if you are interested in helping out!

One response »

Let me know what you think of this post.

