Christmas Spirit

Standard

I waited very impatiently for Christmas this year.  I’m not sure why exactly but I skipped right past Halloween without even acknowledging it and had a few thanksgiving decorations up in October early.   Although, before it was even Thanksgiving I was sneaking out a few Christmas decorations here and there.  My birthday was the day after Thanksgiving this year and what I wanted was to get the Christmas tree up!  I have been sick and slept nearly all day on Thanksgiving and again on my birthday.  I woke up so late it was technically not my birthday anymore but my boys (primarily my youngest son) helped me get the tree up from the dungeon and at least erect.  Today (Sunday) I finally felt like doing more and everyone helped me decorate the tree in red and gold.  It looks very nice. 

Now, I just have to figure out what to give for gifts this year.  It will be challenging since I have so many medical bills right now.  I am always pretty crafty but this year I don’t have much energy or time.  I have been sleeping so much and my awake time is usually time I’m not feeling like doing much.  I have a few ideas up my sleeves but mostly I think it will be more of a token “it’s the thought” year.  A smile and a hug may be all some people get but I think everyone will understand.  One thing is for sure, nothing can put a damper on my Christmas spirit this year.

“Every time you smile at someone, it is an action of love, a gift to that person, a beautiful thing.”

―Mother Teresa

“Every gift which is given, even though it be small, is in reality great, if it is given with affection.”
―Pindar

Let me know what you think of this post.

