My newest undertaking

Standard

So, I was in Joann’s one day (trouble right away) and I saw one of those free patterns hanging on the shelves that grabbed my attention right away.  It wasn’t for any of the multitudes of crafts I already do…. it was for plastic canvas.  I never have liked the look of plastic canvas things but this was for a sharp looking black and silver clutch with BEADS.  Yeah, I think it was the beads that got my attention.  Anyway, I quickly started trying to find the materials needed for the pattern since the angry woman on the overhead speaker was wanting to close the store.  I found the plastic canvas purse form and the silver clasp but couldn’t find the cording in the black and silver.  I finally left because the voice kept getting meaner and meaner and I started to worry she was going to lock up the store with me in it.

After I got home I looked on the internet and discovered it was discontinued!! This beautiful clutch  just wouldn’t look right in any other color so I started on my mission to get what I wanted and of course I now have it in my grubby little paws ;O)  Thank God for the internet!  I picked up the last few things I needed and sat down here ready to start my project HOURS ago.  I had noticed earlier that the pattern said “advanced” but I thought how hard can it be right????  YEAH right!  So I’m supposed to go from this funny looking shape to a gorgeous purse??

plastic canvas purse

Piece of plastic that will become magnificent purse

I sat here puzzling over these seemingly easy instructions which I discovered were really only meant to trip you up.  Well maybe not but there has to be a good explanation for me not being able to figure this out.  When I was a kid I made a tissue box cover and I don’t remember it being this hard!  Okay, so I finally realized I was over analyzing things and decided to read the instructions very VERY literally and finally it made since.  I FINALLY realized why they wanted me to count down so many spaces and over however many more to a “starting hole” BECAUSE when I decided what the heck, I’ll just skip all that and start on the left………. well,  I discovered things are pretty wonky over there.  So it made since that with an odd shaped deal to work on you’d have to start at the middle!  So now I have half of the top row finished and things are looking promising!  Yee Haw!

progress

Can we do it? Yes we can!

Stay tuned for more updates!

Let me know what you think of this post.

