Shopping

Standard

“Clothes and courage have much to do with each other.” ― Sara Jeannette Duncan

This weekend I went shopping at my favorite place – Value Village.  Living in a small city in Alaska with next to nothing for shopping it is hard to be unique.  It’s not uncommon for everyone you know to show up wearing the same *hot new* outfit or shoes from Sears.  If you are not wearing it you probably have it.

I’m the type of person that has to be unique.  I HATE it when I see someone with the same outfit and I’ll probably not wear it for a while if I do.  Well, this weekend at the thrift store was so much fun.  I found a funky light weight  leather jacket patch-worked together with crochet thread.  I know that sounds kinda scary but it’s all one color – a warm mustard color.  It’s perfect for fall and I love it!  It only has two buttons so I’m going to replace them.  They were made from the same thread that connects the patches of leather and I think some cool wooden buttons would look better.  I found several neat tops and skirts, a slouchy pair of green cords and a nice black cold weather jacket that looks like f aux  shear skin.

Of course I support the cause and donate things too.  I always get a chuckle when I see something that was mine.  Out with the old and in with the new.

Clothes can definitely give a person courage and even a little spunk.

Let me know what you think of this post.

