Forgiveness

Standard

“For every minute you are angry you lose sixty seconds of happiness.”
― Ralph Waldo Emerson

It’s easy to forgive the little things, like when Riley breaks one of my vases, but it’s the big things people do that we tend to hang on too.  I’m the worst for holding grudges.  Once someone does something big enough to make me angry I can’t seem to ever get over it.  Then, everytime I see them or even think of them I remember what they did and it makes me angry all over again.  This doesn’t happen very often but it doesn’t take much.   These are the feelings that eat us alive.  I am working on forgiving them but it is hard.  Just when I think I’ve done it something comes up and I realize that old resentment is still there. 

Lord, help me to learn to forgive just as you have.

Let me know what you think of this post.

