Invictus

Standard

I just watched a movie called Invictus which was about Nelson Mandela during the time he was the president of South Africa.  It was very inspiring and I love this poem which was used in the movie.  It was exactly what I needed after the day I had.

Lately I’ve been down because I am so limited because of my health.  I have so many things I want to do and there are so many dreams I can no longer hope to achieve because of my limitations.  I was having one of what I call my “bad days” when the fibromyalgia causes me to sleep for hours when I would normally be awake – when my family is awake.  I didn’t wake up until around noon or so but I was so achy that I continued to lay in bed till after 2pm and I was very cranky.  I grabbed a book that I use for times like these.  It’s Help Yourself by David Pelzer.  This books always makes me snap out of my pity party and get up and do something I should be doing.  Well I read where he quoted another of my favorite authors, Richard Paul Evans, who wrote the Christmas Box series.  It says, “It is in the darkest skies that the stars are best seen.”  That gives me hope because I know this is true.  So then I came out to watch the movie Invictus with my husband and was even more inspired.  I got out my sketch book and watercolor paints and started working on some of my homework.  I can’t help but thing that God is telling me to slow down for a reason and one thing I CAN do is draw and paint.

I am the master of my Fate………. but actually God is the Captain of my soul.  I need to remember that.  He does have a plan.

http://www.bartleby.com/103/7.html

William Ernest Henley. 1849–1903
7. Invictus
OUT of the night that covers me,
  Black as the Pit from pole to pole,
I thank whatever gods may be
  For my unconquerable soul.
In the fell clutch of circumstance          5
  I have not winced nor cried aloud.
Under the bludgeonings of chance
  My head is bloody, but unbowed.
Beyond this place of wrath and tears
  Looms but the Horror of the shade,   10
And yet the menace of the years
  Finds, and shall find, me unafraid.
It matters not how strait the gate,
  How charged with punishments the scroll,
I am the master of my fate:   15
  I am the captain of my soul.
Let me know what you think of this post.

