Black as my heart feels

Standard

I don’t know why exactly but I’m really missing my mom these days.  She’s been gone since 2.16.2008…. and even though that’s been a few years it seems like yesterday.  I guess it’s because of Halloween and I’ve been noticing all the Halloween stuff in the store and everyone seems to have their hair dyed black.  Well, my mom had black hair and it was straight and really long…. well it was when I was younger.  Everyone tells me I look a lot like her but my hair is dark brown and not a little wavy.  So I started wondering…..  if I dyed my hair black and straightened it, would I look like she did in my memories?  Well, it’s done… I got one of those boxes of non-permanant hair color that washes out in 28 shampoos.  Now I just have to straighten it.  Hmmmm  I wonder……  will I see her again in the mirror.

Coincidentally,  I have been invited to a Halloween party at a friend’s house.  So I bought a costume and my hair will actually go with it.  I haven’t dressed up for Halloween in years and years and years.  It seems so strange but I could really use a night of fun and laughter.  I am going to do my nails too and I haven’t done that in a long time either!  Wowzers!  I hope I have fun.  I have been kinda sick (catching something) and was laying down most of yesterday feeling queezy… so hopefully that wont cause any issues for me and ruin a fun evening. 

I’ll take lots of pictures!

3 responses »

  1. Sorry to hear about your mom. It sounds like you two were close. That’s a fortunate thing to have a mom you were close to. 🙂

    Did you decide to straighten your “black” hair for the party? Or did you even or will you even make it to the party? Sounds like you haven’t been feeling well at all. Don’t overdo it. Take care of yourself and I hope you have a happy halloween whether you go to the party or not.

  2. I did go to the party and had a lot of fun visiting with friends I hadn’t seen in a while. I wasn’t very animated though like a lot of the others LOL I mostly drank water and a little decaf diet pepsi but I did eat some halloween goodies. On the way though, I got cold. It was about 10 degrees. I felt like the cold was radiating from inside me and I couldn’t get warm until I got my small heating pad and piled blankets over me. My feet never really got warm though. I got sick after I got home from the party (thank goodness) and stayed in bed most of the day today eating nothing but cornflakes and bananas. My sweet hubby went to the store today and bought me various medicines for stomach ills, more cornflakes and bananas and a pair of pink and black minnie mouse pj’s with matching soft fuzzy socks! They are warm and he knows how I like cute pj’s. I just got out of bed at it’s after 7pm. Who knows how long I’ll last.

Let me know what you think of this post.

