Snow ‘n Tell

Standard

It’s snowing…  big beautiful snowflakes drifting to the ground like white feathers.  I’d take a picture but I’ve found it’s nearly impossible to capture snow with my camera.  So just close your eyes and picture it.  Outside my window there are huge spruce trees mixed with a few paper white birch and they are dusted in what looks like powdered sugar.  The sky is a whitish grey and the air is heavy with quiet peace.  Sitting inside on my comfy couch with my cup of tea I feel like I have my very own big screen snow globe that just got a good shaking.  It seems like it would be cold but when I stepped out to let the dog out it was warmer than expected.  It’s about 25 degrees and for November in Fairbanks, AK that isn’t very cold.  A raven just flew up and plopped down on a spruce branch heavy with snow.  I watched the snow shower to the ground like a white waterfall.  As it hit other branches more showers began and as the raven moved to other branches and other trees more snow rained down.  It’s a very poetic scene. 

Don’t you wish you had a snow globe like mine?

I just realized that I forgot to upload my pictures of the new progress on my painting.  This is the first time I’ve ever painted a face.  I’ve drawn them in pencil but I’m new at watercolor.  So I’m a little worried about how this is progressing.  Whenever I’ve drawn faces the hair is always my hang up so I decided to tackle that first.   

hair.... still not done

10 responses »

  1. Oh our snow globe was enchanting! I love winter. I could picture it all. You captured everything perfectly with words. I can’t get a decent shot of snow with my camera, either. It will be here pretty soon, too. 🙂

  2. It sounds lovely and peaceful, but no. Sorry…not a fan of cold at all. The Ohio winters are rough enough for me! Give me 80F and I’m a happy girl, though!

    My sister used to teach at a school in St. Mary’s, AK and for a few years she ran a bed and breakfast in Bethel, AK and I never went to visit. Someday, I would love to see Alaska though. In July!

  3. Although I am not looking forward to the snow arriving here, I love watching big fat snowflakes falling. I’ve never been able to get a good picture of snowfall either. (found you thru NaBloPoMo)

  4. I’m picturing, I’m picturing. I don’t like winter in so many ways (dangerous roads over here, dark days etc) but when the snow hits then I totally forget all that and just admire. Lovely post, and think your face it’s going to turn out fabulous, looks great already, much love Jennibellie xx

  5. It looks like your face is going to be fabulous! I know about the sketching of faces. Mine always turn out well, but then I add paint… and, well, then I’m not so happy with them. I love the hair! I’m liking the wind-swept look! Happy Day #5!

  6. What a lovely scene you describe…I used to love watching the snow fall when we lived in Wyoming. Of course, we don’t ever see snow here in sunny Queensland, Australia so it’s very nice to envisage it through your words, thanks.

    You are off to a magnificent start on the face….the hair is looking really good too.

    Enjoy a beautiful weekend,

    Serena 🙂

  7. I love your Christmas Zentangle from the other day!! and the face is coming along beautifully, I think… I can never get shadowing on a realistic-ish sort of face right. Waiting for Suzie Blu’s book and dvd to come out next Spring and hopefully, that will give me some how-to on that area. Everyone says she’s really detailed and shows you up close how to see it. Anyway, can’t wait to see more unfold here for AEDM!!

    You mentioned in your comment on my blog that you love doing altered books, too. I did find one post from 2009 AEDM where I did up three books — there’s a shaky handheld video but then I posted better photos below that, that you should be able to click on to see really up close:

    http://motherhenna.blogspot.com/2009/06/never-ending-art-explosion.html

    For the front covers, I built up layers of texture using heavy gel acrylic. Then I gesso’d to make the doorways, and used brown stampers ink at the edges to age the wall behind the doorway. The handle on the doors is a metal bead that I got stuck on there good by setting it in a small bed of heave gel acrylic and letting it sit for like 5 days to really dry.

    For the back covers, I just gesso’d and used swipes and dots of acrylic paint and a paint pen to outline the dots. The paper dolls are cut out of vintage paper and then I use a very thin gel medium layer on the cover, laid down the doll, and more thin medium over top to really sort of “encaust” it on there without doing encaustic process, if that makes sense? The one outlined doll is outlined with a Faber PITT india ink brush pen in black.

    It was INCREDIBLY fun to make those books. More to come 🙂 Miracles!!
    k-

Let me know what you think of this post.

