Brain pain

Standard

I had a migraine last night and it was a dooser!  It hit me about 2am and I was quick and took my migraine meds right away.  It didn’t work though…  I waited an hour and took another one and nothing…. it didn’t even lessen the pain the slightest bit.  I was so bad I couldn’t do anything but lay in bed.  I couldn’t stand the lights, or any sounds and I was so nauseated.  It hurt to move my head.  I finally took some extra strength Tylenol to see if that helped but no such luck….  I would have gone to the ER if my husband was here to drive me.  There is no way I could have driven myself.  Too bad my oldest son doesn’t have his driver’s license yet.  He is 17 and doesn’t even have his permit and hasn’t shown any interest in learning how to drive.  After a while I got up and took a Claritin just in case it was sinus related.  I have been taking Claritin daily for a while…  and I remember opening a prescription bottle and taking something but I don’t remember what it was.  I have a lot of those bottles and it was dark.   I couldnt’ stand to have the light on.  I ended up falling asleep though…… and when I woke up it was 3pm and my headache was gone.  Thank God.  I think that was the 2nd worst headache I’ve ever had.  The number one worst was a reaction to anesthesia drugs from my endoscopies.

Anyway, I’m just taking it easy the rest of the day because I feel like I got ran over by a train or something.  I feel sore all over and weak.

I wanted to share some thoughts and a quote from the book I’ve been reading called  A can of Peas by Traci Depree.  I just love her writing style and her descriptions just stay with me.   I’m not going to say much more after this because I don’t want to give away too much of the story.  I mentioned before that Peter Morgan’s grandfather passed away and he has a lot of memories of helping him on the farm when he was younger.  Well Virginia, his grandmother can’t work the farm at her age so she was going to have to sell the family farm and move to town.  Peter decided that he wanted to buy the farm and talked to his new wife of 6 months to see how she felt about that.  They are both City folk!  Well they have decided to give it a try since Peter is between jobs and they have been living in the basement of his In-Laws house.  Peter was told he would have to show up at the farm early if he wanted to learn how to milk the cows.  Here is a quote…

“The sky was just beginning its morning show, and the yard light began to dim.  He got out of his old green Chevy truck and stood, inhaling the day.  The morning air was crisp and cool.  The sky was a pale canvas, ready to be painted in shades of orchid and pink. Faint pinpricks of starlight shone through the lavender sky, and the moon hung low in the west, ready for its shift to end.”

So Peter is learning that farming is a hard life.  He’s not used to being so far in debt and they are already late in putting in the crops.  At the same time, his wife Mae is learning that it is just as hard fitting in with the other women in this small town where everyone knows everyone’s business.  She can’t find a job in town so she’s been having a lot of lonely time to herself missing her husband and trying to figure out what she can do on the farm.

This is a great book and there are a lot of great characters from the town that really add to the story.  There are sections of the book here and there that give a look back into the past and give you a little more information about a character.  It’s like taking a step back in time.  There are two more books to continue the story about the small town of “Lake Emily” in Minnesota.  Book #2 is called dandelions in a Jelly Jar and Book #3 is called Aprons on a ClotheslineI’m about half way through this one and I’m curious to see how the newly-wed couple fairs on the farm.

I’m still tatting my little snowflake design and when I’m finished I’ll post a picture.

One response »

  1. So sorry to hear you had such a horrible migraine! That sounds like a doozy! Yes, take it easy today.
    This sounds like a cute series. I also love when they are based in Minnesota, of course. 😉
    Have a quiet, peaceful day of reading and tatting. :):)

Let me know what you think of this post.

