Letters on paper

Standard

Yesterday was a great day.  My son brought in the mail and I had two letters and a package.  Of course my birthday is this Sunday and the package was for my birthday but I love getting letters.  No one seems to write anymore!  It is so easy to email but it is so impersonal.  I love beautiful stationary and colorful pens and stamps.  A letter or  a card can also contain a special little something like a pressed flower, bookmark, photograph or even money.  You can’t do that with an email.  I remember when my grandmother was still alive and I loved writing to her and getting letters from her.

My package contained lemons, tangerines and pecans from my dad’s yard in Georgia.  The timing was perfect so they didn’t get frozen.  Last year I got a box full of frozen lemons but I just popped them into my freezer and thawed them when I was ready to use them.  I made home-made lemon bars and lemonade.  It was actually very convenient having those frozen lemons.  This time I plan on using them fresh though.

One of the letters I got yesterday is from a new friend of mine with an awesome cat.  It sure made my day.

Well, I managed to stay awake most of the day today.  I’ve been sick and taking cold medicine so it just happened to work out that I slept till 3:30 am.  Lately I’ve been waking up at 10 pm so hopefully I’ve made it off the night shift.  I learned a new crochet stitch called the crocodile stitch by watching youtube today.  I thought I was smart and decided to learn the stitch and make my first scarf with it at the same time……… using a difficult yarn.  This yarn is a boucle so it’s very difficult to see the stitches.  I also added to the length so the rows of scales alternates differently than the video.  Needless to say I had to rip it all out.  Tomorrow I’ll try again using a plain yarn so I can understand how to start and end each new row correctly.  Then I’ll make my scarf with the beautiful boucle yarn.

Here is the video I’m learning with.  This is actually one of 3 that I watched on the same stitch.  This one was the most clear.

7 responses »

  1. You probably won’t believe me but I’ve actually had the stuff out to write you a letter for a long time now.
    Well….maybe you will believe me since it hasn’t happened yet.
    But it will one day.
    Hopefully.

    • I wont hold it against you Becker… I know how life goes. But I’ll still wait for the letter… just not hold my breath hehe I’ve been really enjoying your blog by the way.

  2. I love good old-fashioned letter-writing too, Donna. I keep in touch this way with a lovely blogger who has a darling cat too. I wonder if she’s one in the same person? 😉

    How lovely that your Dad sent you a package of fruit and pecans! I love anything with lemons….delicious!

    WOW, that crocodile stitch looks quite complex. I think it would take a little getting used to but I’m keen to see how you progress with it.

    Enjoy your day,
    Serena 🙂

    • I bet it might be :O) Especially if her name begins with an R and ends with an A. She is a very special friend.

      That pattern is very complicated. I have crocheted since I was a little girl but I’ve never crocheted a pattern that you turn over so much. It sure is pretty when you work it in sparkly or soft, fluffy yarns. I think it looks best when you use thinner yarn. Regular worsted weight yarns like Red heart just make it look like rows of tongues. I have some thinner yarn in white with a bit of sparkle to it and I’m going to try that today.

  3. Happy Birthday early! I don’t see how the fruit couldn’t have been frozen with as cold as it has been up there?

    Now I know it takes around a week or more for a letter to make it to Alaska. 😉

    That crocheting pattern looks soooo complicated. Of course, I never could figure out how to crochet in the first place. Good luck. Show us what you make!

    I hope you are feeling better and stay on day hours. I finally arrived on daylight hours a couple of days ago. Soooo nice!

    Happy Thanksgiving! 🙂

    • Thank you for the birthday wishes Rita. I really appreciate it. I planned on celebrating all week but I’ve just been sleeping LOL I’m awake now though! I woke up at 5:30 AM today! I barely made dinner yesterday and I felt like I needed to pass out in my bed. I can’t believe I slept for so long!

      I just reread my post and there were several typos. I was so exhausted but I had to write something. I used the spell check but my typos were actual words so it didn’t catch them. I wrote that you made my dad LOL Also, I had been waking up at 10 pm not am…. so I’m really glad to be up today in the AM!

Let me know what you think of this post.

