Wish it were a Sunday…. That’s my fun day

Standard

Well Sunday was my birthday.  I really wanted to go  to church on my birthday since I haven’t been able to make it in a while.  My husband went to a card game at his friend’s house Saturday night and came home around 1am or something like that.  I woke up when he came in and couldn’t get back to sleep.  He and I started talking and playing games on the Kindle together and I stayed up until time to go to church and he stayed up with me!!!! It was so good to see my friends at church.  I really miss talking with people.  When I’m not feeling well for so long I don’t get out at all and it gets really lonely.  Plus I get my sleeping schedule mixed up and then I’m awake when everyone else is sleeping so then I’m really alone.  It was so good to spend that time talking with my husband and then seeing so many friends at church.  They are going on a temple trip in January and I really want to go.  I’ve never been to a temple and I’m really curious.  The Anchorage temple is the closest so the church is chartering a bus.  I really hope I can go  but I’m also nervous about going without my husband.  He doesn’t do church stuff.

When I got home I was hurting because of getting cold but I was hungry too so I made Thanksgiving dinner LOL  Since I didn’t get to have any on Thursday I got out all the fixings.  I made stuffing, mashed potatoes and gravy…..baked some Pillsbury biscuits and got out the cranberry sauce.  Then we all just reheated some turkey from Thursday.  Riley had a friend that spent the night and he had brought a box of mac n’ cheese.  He was pretty glad to have roast beast instead.  This kid is great too.  I spent some time talking to him last night and I wanted to adopt him!!!!!  He’s in Riley’s 8th grade class and we was also at the poetry slam.  I saw him there and  I wished Riley would make friends with a kid like that.  Then Riley comes home from school one day with him.  Yes!  He just moved off the military base so he’s really close now.  He’s really smart and is great to talk to.  He’s great for Riley too because Riley tends to say things like “I can’t do that” or “I’m not strong enough” and this kid tells him he’s wrong.  One time I heard him tell Riley he was a lot smarter than he thought he was.  This kid reminds me a lot of my older son Jared only he is more outgoing.  I think that is why Riley likes him.  He wants to do things with his brother but Jared just stays cooped up in his room and reads or is on the computer.  Anyway, he’s a good friend and opened up some fantastic conversations at our house!  I love him!

Well after I ate and then beat my husband at words with friends on the kindle I was extremely tired.  I tried to stay awake as long as I could and knit for a while but I eventually lost the battle.  I went to sleep around 4pm and woke up about 1 am again.  I really hate waking up when everyone else is sleeping!  My dog really missed me though.  I didn’t realize how long it had been since I’d spent time with her.  She heard me as soon as I came out of my room and pounced out to see me.  She cried and cried and leapt up on my lap and tried to lick me.  I don’t do face licks since I know where else she licks!  Now she’s sleeping on my lap and making it hard to type.

I do feel better than I have in a while.  I think that is mainly from getting out and seeing people!  I have to do that more often.  I feel like working on some mandalas.  I’m way behind in the class.

 

About Donna

I enjoy all seasons and always have something growing inside or out. I also love to read, paint, take pictures and to just get creative. I'm sure you'll see some evidence of that in this blog

4 responses »

  1. Sounds like a nice, albeit unconventional, birthday. 😉 Our lives are a bit off the beaten track, but I hope you get to go see the temple and maybe get to go to church on Sunday once in a while so you can get out and visit with people.

    When you were saying how you miss people and are tired of being alone so much…I’m alone all the time and it doesn’t bother me. I love seeing my son and DIL when they come, of course, but I can’t say I am lonely. Alone, but not lonely. I think it is harder when you actually HAVE other people around right there in the house and don’t get to see them. To be so close, but feeling far away is a whole different thing.

    Anyways, I’m glad you had a good birthday. Hope your hours get straightened out soon. Are you off the meds that were making you sleep all the time? Feeling better? Hope so. Have a great week! 🙂

    • No, I’m not off the meds. I’m already on bare minimum meds. I’m only taking half the dose of the fibro medicine because it made me sleep all the time at that dose and I do have the patch for pain which is the lowest dose also. Mostly it’s the fibro that makes me sleep I think. Getting cold doesn’t help and living in Alaska is really not helping. Just getting cold makes me hurt and then I get tired and sleep for a really long time. When I wake up I feel angry because of the time I’ve lost.

      I think the hardest part for me is thinking of the friends I’ve lost. I had a lot of friends at work before I really started having problems. When I went on my first medical leave people were pretty supportive but they didn’t understand what was wrong. When I went on the 2nd leave people were less supportive and didn’t seem to believe me. Even though I tried to explain people would still invite me to things like hiking, long distance runs and skiing which I can’t do. No one wants to just stop by and visit….. or meet for lunch. It is so frustrating. I guess I just need to get used to being a long as well…or make friends who understand.

  2. I know. My own parents didn’t believe me for years. I more or less lost a “friend” (nurse) I had had for over 30 years because she didn’t believe I was sick and blamed it all on me. We do email occasionally now, but I don’t want to see her anymore and haven’t even talked with her on the phone since then (8 years). She dealt some really low blows and we had previously had trouble a couple of times over the years with her trying to tell me how to live my life, etc. (You’d think she would have learned.) Three times and you’re out in my book. Maybe it’s a good way to weed out the true friends from the acquaintances and surface people, you know? And make new ones–yes! 😉

  3. Yes, I think that is what I need. New true friends. Its really sad that a nurse of all people can be so insensitive. The people I worked with were all nurses too but so many of them think fibromyalgia is not real.

    I just got my birthday card you sent me and I really appreciated it. I think it was actually in a stack that came yesterday but I was in bed all day yesterday. I loved the vellum paper and your writing is so perfectly in line. The card is very nice too – obviously you made it. I love homemade cards. It’s cards like that that people hold on to. When I went to GA for my mom’s funeral there was a card I made for her on the refrigerator. I have it back now.

Let me know what you think of this post.

