Proud of me!

Standard

I have been messing with my computer all day (Well actually I slept until 6pm so that’s actually all evening and all night) trying to get things to work right.  Usually when I have computer issues I just ask my husband who is a techie-computer geek-dude for a living.  You know, when I used to work at the bank I used to call him at the hospital where he worked to help me with computer problems because the IT guys where I worked didn’t know as much.  He always knew the answers I needed and then I’d tell them LOL  Then I got a job at the hospital too and he was always close when I needed help.  I have actually learned a lot about computer myself just from asking questions and playing around.

I couldn’t figure this problem out though so I went to ask him for help.  He was reading and taking it easy in his room.  He has to go back to work in the morning (well, really soon now) so he didn’t want to work on it.  He said he would look at it later…    He doesn’t like having to “work” on his day off.  Well, if you know me at all you know I don’t wait well..  So all day I’ve been trying to fix it myself.

A while back my laptop fried.  It was a crappy little Acer that was always freezing or going black and not turning back on.  He was always able to fix it until the screen finally fried.  It was cool actually.  The screen turned this pretty blue and then started getting these stripes in all kinds of pretty colors…. pretty but not very functional…. like a laptop shaped paperweight.  Well he was able to get the hard drive out of it and using his magical powers he connected it to the network of computers in our house.  Everything in our house is networked…. even the TV.  I think he would connect the toaster to the network if he could.  My husband bought me another laptop and set it up with my itunes.  He wanted all the music together in one place on the network to avoid duplications but my music wasn’t all there….. but I did have every crappy song everyone else in the house bought though.  My music was actually still on my ipod so I tried to upload them to itunes but I kept getting these crazy errors.  I was fighting with itunes which must have had a bug because it wouldn’t let me authorize my new laptop.  It said I’d authorized too many computers but it wouldn’t let me de-authorize any.  The button to do that wasn’t there!  There was all kinds of fighting I did with that.  Anyway, I uninstalled and re-installed and the button showed up.  So I finally was authorized and I was so thrilled!  but,  I couldn’t download the music that was on my ipod – I know how but the option wasn’t there.  That was a while back….. so today (or tonight)  I was back to trying to fix my itunes so I could sync my music.  You need to be able to sync so you can have a backup!  If I tried to sync my ipod with itunes on the computer it would always ask, “Are you sure you want to do that?  ’cause if you do we are going to delete all of your beloved music on your ipod and then laugh when you cry!”  Well, maybe not in those exact words… but pretty close.  Anyway, tonight I noticed there was an itunes update and ran it and wah-lah!  The option was there to copy the music from my ipod to my itunes.  Most of my music that wasn’t working because the file was missing was fixed but there was still some that were missing.  I spent hours looking in folders and trying to figure out where my music went before I got smart and used the “search” function!  *duh!*  I searched the main computer system for a song that was missing and found all of the missing music.  Ahhhhhhhhhh, what a relief!  Now all my music is back.

Well, since I was on a roll I decided to look at some other things too.  I kept getting these two errors on my computer but they really weren’t a big deal since it still worked fine.  It was really just annoying that they kept popping up.  Well, this newer laptop is actually an older laptop that my husband bought on eBay.  It is still way better than what I had……. and it is a laptop that he could add memory to and play with the guts of the computer.  The other laptop wasn’t designed to reopen so it could be improved later.  When he got this one he added memory and who knows what else and put windows 7 on it.  So it turned out the errors were caused by compatibility issues with Windows 7.  There was a problem with the video card and I forget what the other thing was.  There were “drivers” missing.  Well I was able to find them online and download them and now, no more errors!  I am so proud of myself.  He could have probably done all that in 5 minutes but that’s okay.

One response »

  1. It’s exciting when you can figure it out by yourself!! Silly, but the last time my laptop disconnected itself from the internet I was able to remember what the kids had told me and fixed it by myself. A minuscule thing to them, but I was patting myself on the back–LOL! What you managed to do–far beyond me, I tell you. Congrats! 🙂

Let me know what you think of this post.

