Finally finished

Standard

Yes, I did it.  I did what would normally take a few hours in like 3 days but it is hard to focus when you are in pain.  I felt better today mostly and actually went overboard a bit.  I was listening to music and was otherwise distracted and realized my headband would have fit my oldest son – he has a big head (or a hugely inflated ego LOL)  So I took out a few rows and seamed it up.  The way she shows to seam it you can’t even tell where the seam is at.   I followed the instructions in Teresa’s (Crochet Geek) video.  I crochet way tighter than she does so I had to go up two sizes to a J hook and it was still not as wide as hers.   I liked the width I got with the J hook so I stuck with that.  She says to crochet 46 rows but that was only about half the size I needed.  I really like it and it goes nicely with my new scarf my husband bought me.  It is black with pink so I may add a little black boarder later but right now I really like it as it is.  It’s nice and warm too.

Blue liked it too.  Only because I had a carrot for her though.

Here is a close up of the stitches.  I was trying to capture the colors which are different shades of dark pink and a medium pink.  It is kind of dark in here though so that wasn’t easy.  I used Red Heart Super Saver – multicolor in Candy print.  It isn’t the softest yarn but I think I’m going to line it with some matching fleece.  I live in Alaska so that would make it warmer and help stop the wind from penetrating it.

So what do you think?

10 responses »

  1. Pretty! But I can see where the wind could go right through it. Imagine if you had done it with a looser stitch–even more wind–LOL! A liner sounds like a good idea. I guess. I have no clue how to crochet, let alone add liners. Do your mysterious work and show us. 😉

    Hope you’re feeling well today. 🙂

    • Good morning Rita (well it is morning for me since I just woke up)… you know I always say crocheting is super easy but I was just thinking that might be because my sister started teaching me when I was little and my mom helped a lot too. Well, I found this stitch to be a little more challenging for my achy hands since there was a little trick to making the ribbing. That little change took a little more effort and caused my hands to hurt. I got about half way on Friday actually slept all day on Saturday….. all the night before too. I must be a beauty queen by now.

      I haven’t gone outside with it yet so I don’t know how well it works but I think I have enough experience to know… acrylic yarn wont be warm enough when it is really cold here in Alaska. All I really do is cut a piece of fleece and pin it down and stitch it in by hand. Hope you have a good day (or night)

  2. Hey Ladybug partner! I think we have a lot in common. I don’t crochet (yet), but I am a knitter. Your headband is super cute. I’m looking into teaching in Alaska next school year and was happy to find my partner lives there. I may be asking tons of questions. Maggie

Let me know what you think of this post.

