Sleep…. and gravy

Standard

I’ve been in bed all day.  I should be a super model by now.

I’ve been reading a lot when I’m awake.  Hopefully I’ll be finished with this book soon.  I’m still reading The Chase by Clive Cussler.

The NaBloPoMo Prompt for today is an odd one.

Tell us about the beginning of your life.

My life began when I met my husband.  I heard a laugh that was very distinctive…kinda sounds like a hyena.  He lights up the room and seemed to be the life of the party when he was in the bar next door to the restaurant.  Sometimes I would stand in the little room that was a small kitchen area that was open to the bar and the restaurant and listen to him laugh and watch him sitting at the bar.   He had a mullet, sky blue eyes and looked like Kurt Russell…seriously.  We both worked at the same hotel.  I worked in the restaurant and he was a courtesy driver.   One day I saw him helping an elderly lady in a door and he was talking with her.  He was so nice to her and obviously not just doing that because it was expected.  Next I saw him talking with an elderly old man and being so patient and listening to him even though he was hard to understand.  I thought, wow, he’s a really nice guy.  Then he came over and talked to me and my heart turned to jello.  He asked if I wanted to go to his softball game.  I said no LOL  I knew my dad would never allow it.  Then this other guy asked me if I wanted to go to a game and I didn’t realize he meant the same game.  This other guy was the brother of a girl I was going to school with (at a private Baptist school).  That meant his family was Christian and suitable.  I asked my dad and he said I could go.  Then I see Chris there and he saw me with this other guy that he didn’t much like and wasn’t happy.   I found out pretty quickly that this guy wasn’t such a gentleman.  Later on I saw Chris driving up into the parking lot while I was on break and we got to talking.  I explained about my dad and that if you didn’t go to church you didn’t pass muster.  He laughed and said he would never pass then.  He was also 6 years older than me.  Well to make a long story short…… we’ve been married now for 20 years.  It has been the best part of my life and every thing else is just gravy.

“Coming together is a beginning; keeping together is progress; working together is success”    -Henry Ford

2 responses »

Let me know what you think of this post.

