Wool-eater blanket

Standard

You can click that photo to see it larger.  The sky is so pretty and it has been so long since I could see it!  I took two pictures today and had a really hard time choosing which one to use for my 365 Project.  The one at the top has a beautiful sky but I think this one is really the best.

Winter fence on 365 Project

It actually warmed up!  Yesterday it got to around 13 degrees F and now it is 5 degrees.  I have to admit I was actually thinking about slipping out to go to Joann’s since it is soooooo horribly close to me.  But, I remembered my new years resolution and  decided against it…for now.  I’m supposed to be using up my stash and I have a lot!!!

So my next creative project is a CAL (crochet-a-long) and I’m making the wool-eater blanket from Sarah London’s website which will help me use up some of my stash.  I have already learned something new.  UK and. US crochet stitches are not the same.    I found a conversion chart here.

So when she says to work a “dtr or double treble” she means to work a triple crochet or trc.  Also a dc/double crochet is really a sc/single crochet.

I also learned something else….. or rather I finally caught on to something.  I noticed in Teresa’s (crochet geek) video for the headband I just made that she wrapped the yarn around her hook counter-clockwise… the opposite way I do.  I don’t know if I was taught to wrap my yarn that way or if I just did it that way but I wondered why she did it differently.  Well, I remember hating triple crochet because the extra wraps never want to come off and I have to grab them with my fingers to move them over to the hook.  I was thinking maybe this was the wrong pattern for me because this was going to take me forever!  That is when I had my AH-HAH moment.  I realized if I wrapped the yarn counter-clockwise like Teresa did that the loops slip over much easier!  So now that I know what I’m doing I’m getting started with the same yarn I just finished making my headband with.   That will be my first stripe.  Now I just have to get the hang of changing something that is so ingrained in my head that I could do it in my sleep.  Anyway,  I’ll take pictures as I go.  This blanket will be for Project Linus and will go to a little one at the hospital.  If you know how to crochet or knit, or even tie fleece you can make a blanket for a child too.  You can find a Project Linus Representative in your area by clicking here.  If you are in Fairbanks, Alaska that would be me.  :O)

The NaBloPoMo prompt for today is a challenge to my memory.

Who was your first friend?

Well, I think that would be my sister.  I was always close to my sister when I was little until she left home when I was 5.  I was brokenhearted when she left.  My sister is the oldest and 13 years older than me.  She is still the one I call when I’m down and need a pick-me-up because she is really good at that.  What surprises me is that even though she left home and the state when I was 5 and I didn’t see her growing up we are still very much alike.  We like the same things.  When I went to GA for my (our) mom’s funeral I discovered that we made our coffee the EXACT same way.  I don’t drink coffee anymore but I used to be very particular about how it was made and no one could make my coffee….  until then.  We carry the same lip-gloss in our purses and were wearing the same shoes.   The only difference is I was born a tomboy.  I didn’t want anything to do with pink or purple, ruffles, lace or bows…. and my sister was all of that.  Now that I’m older I’ve found that I like pink and purple but still wont wear ruffles, lace, or bows!

One response »

  1. I’m envious of your snow! ;P
    I always had a terrible time getting anything the right size when I knit things, so I can relate. I was a tight knitter. 😉
    My very first friend. When we moved to Fridley when I was five the girl next door, who was a much older seven, showed me how to build a snowman. Even though we had long spells where we lost touch, we’ve been friends ever since. 55 years. Closer now than we ever have been. 🙂

Let me know what you think of this post.

