Road to nowhere fast

Standard

My oldest son is going to be 18 this April.  He is in his senior year and even though he is incredibly smart he is barely passing.  He has thrown away all chances of getting a scholarship and he had a good shot.  At this point I’m worried that he might not graduate (and even if he does he’s said he isn’t going to the ceremony) but I’ve also told him all I can……. and these mistakes are his to make.  I hate to be that way but I remember when I was that age and no one would tell me anything.  I was just sure everyone was against me (and in my case some actually were).  It is very upsetting to see him doing so poorly when he had such promise but I know this is not the end.  He can always dig himself out off the trouble he gets into.  It will just take time and hard work.  My husband and I have done it and so can he.  I guess I am just now realizing that I can’t save him from making the mistakes young people make.  I can try…… but it just falls on deaf ears.

He has to make his own beginnings.

 

“All men make mistakes, but only wise men learn from their mistakes.”
~Winston Churchill quotes

2 responses »

  1. That is what I told my husband. We both tried to talk to him again today. We just got report cards for the 1st semester. His grades have continued to slip… all of them. My youngest isn’t doing well either. He may be repeating another year.

Let me know what you think of this post.

