Too cold for the birds

Standard

It is -40 F and the whole area is engulfed in a thick ice fog.  Not the kind that floats in the air over a stretch of road and you can see the top and bottom of it…… this ice fog is everywhere.  When I look outside it looks like the air is white…. like thick white smoke.  I think it is frozen….  I didn’t dare go outside.  I decided it was a great day (or days) to stay inside and sip hot cocoa or tea while snuggled under a warm blanket reading a book.  I took this picture through my window.  It looks more clear up close but the camera just doesn’t pick it up very well.  If you look at the tall trees in the background you can see it better.

Too cold for the birds on 365 Project

The snow on the smaller bird feeder is causing the hook to tip a little.

Yesterday I added another stripe to my Wool-Eater blanket.  I chose purple.  I usually ask my husband what he thinks and he thought the blue against the pink was a bit too much and thought I should go with colors that were more closely related.  I think it looks nice.  Now I just have to decide what color to use next.

I finally finished my book called The Chase by Clive Cussler.  I really enjoyed it and can’t wait to read the second book which looks even better.  It isn’t often I find a book that I really like that doesn’t have a curse or two and some really graphic sex scenes.

 

The Chase (Isaac Bell, #1)The Chase by Clive Cussler

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was a good mystery with a cowboy type hero although he had no horse. He drove a fast car. I really enjoyed all of the historic details that were woven in with the story. This story has a western feel and is captivating even without cursing and graphic scenes. Once I got half way though the book there was no putting it down until the end. The “chase” scene made you feel like you were on board…..

View all my reviews

 

One of my resolutions was to read 12 books that I already have and pass them on some how…..   now I have to decide how.  I might just add it to my bookcrossing wild releases.

4 responses »

    • I’m glad you think they look good together. I thought so but I’m always doubting myself. I really just need to use up some of this yarn that has been donated but I don’t want to make an ugly blanket either! This blanket is called the “wool-eater” because it uses a lot of yarn. These rows I’ve already done took up half a skein each – give or take. Each row takes up more so I think I would run out if I just use those colors. I’m only making a child size blanket though. I found another variegated yarn to add next and I’m almost finished right now. It has purple in it too that blends with the last row. I think it looks good. I’ll take a picture when I’m done.

Let me know what you think of this post.

