Lazy day

Standard

I’ve been in bed all day.  I got up this morning but just couldn’t concentrate on anything.  I went back to bed and tried to read but just ended up sleeping on my book again.  I woke up a little while when my husband came home.  He came home early because his stomach was upset.  He made himself some instant mashed potatoes.  I told him I’d always thought mashed potatoes would be good with scrambled eggs and he looked at me like I was crazy.  After a few minutes though, he said, “… and maybe some crumbled sausage.”  He bought this already cooked “crumbed sausage”.  He also has already cooked bacon.  I can’t believe people keep getting lazier and lazier.  I really can’t say much though since I slept all day.  Well I fell asleep and when I woke up later in the evening my husband was cooking.  Apparently they don’t make already cooked scrambled eggs yet.  He made some more INSTANT mashed potatoes and mixed them with the scrambled eggs and already cooked “crumbed sausage” and brought me a bowl.  It was soooooooooooooo good!  I was right.  Scrambled eggs are great with mashed potatoes…. and the sausage was good too.  I should add that he melted cheese on the top of it.    He was already thinking of ways to use the leftovers.  It makes me wonder what would happen if there was a disaster and there was no more instant anything….. would American’s used to buying already cooked, instant food that they heated in microwaves survive?  What if,suddenly, the only way to get food was to get up off the couch and go shoot it yourself?   I think a lot of people would lose a lot of weight fast.  Personally, I think I would just eat veggies since I don’t think I could kill something.  I really prefer veggies and beans anyway.  Just give me some seeds and some dirt and I’ll be okay.

I did take a picture for my 365 project but I haven’t uploaded them yet.  I’ll do that tomorrow and hopefully I’ll be felling better then.

I started another book.  I’m reading The Wrecker by Clive Cussler and Justin Scott, which is the second book in the Issac Bell series.  It looks like it picks up where the last one left off.  I love these books!  They weave historical details into an exciting story.  It makes me think of the westerns my dad used to watch.  I always loved the cowboy heroes.  They were always tough but calm and seemed to take down the bad guys with so little effort.  Most of them had blue eyes too and I have a soft spot for sky blue eyes.  Issac Bell, the hero detective in these books has violet-blue eyes which I have never seen myself.  That is really the only clue to who is at the ski resort in Germany in the preface.  I mean, I had an idea that it was him but I wasn’t sure until I read about those eyes.  After all day in bed I only read to the end of chapter 1.  Now I think my dog and I are going to nap some in the recliner.  My back hurts after being in bed all day.

The NaBloPoMo promt for today is

Tell us about some of your first toys.

Well, I remember seeing pictures of myself on this funny looking rocking horse type thing but I don’t really remember it.  I do remember I had this doll that was almost as big as me.  I called her Janie but that wasn’t her real name.  I think she was a Crissy doll.  She had auburn hair and you could pull a string in her back to make it shorter or pull her hair to make it longer.  I was always changing her clothes into baby clothes people had bought me and fixing her hair.  I had auburn hair when I was younger so people always said she looked just like me.  She was really big and I was small so people always laughed at me carrying her around by her head.  I also had one of those fisher price snoopy dogs that you pulled by a string.  It had legs not wheels like the newer ones do.  I loved that thing!

2 responses »

  1. Hi, Donna!
    I’ve been finally getting some sleep, even if it is during the day. Wish it was longer. And you wish yours was less. We’re just never happy, right? LOL!

    I like odd combinations of things and like all those ingredients so it sounds good to me. I can’t afford to buy many instant anythings for food. It is cheaper to make from scratch–unless it is the boxes of mac n’ cheese–or I buy Zatarains beans and rice in a box. (Probably would be cheaper to make it myself, but I can’t get the spices right for that taste–LOL!)

    My first toy I remember was my big cloth doll my uncle bought me for my first birthday. She is much the worse for wear, but I still have her. She was under my dad’s car in the garage and got oil dripped on her face and the dog chewed her yarn hair and I had to have her arms and legs reattached a few times (buttons)–but she’s still around in a box in the garage. 😉

    Hope you’re feeling okay and not sleeping too much. Have a great Wednesday.

    • Rita, yesterday I slept all day. I woke up a few times but just couldn’t get out of bed. I slept the whole night before and all of last night too. I think that’s enough sleep now. I’m ready to get some things done. I’m feeling a little snow still so I’ve been taking it easy and crocheting on the couch and listening to music. That’s neat that you still have your doll. I don’t know what happened to mine but I do sitll have my Annie doll. She’s a raggedy-Ann doll that looks like Annie from the Movie. My sister took me to see the movie when I was little and then she bought that doll for me. My mom was notorious for “donating” toys she thought we didn’t care about anymore. My sister is still upset about her dolls that were given away to people that were going door to door. My mom just had such a big heart and couldn’t say no when people came around saying they were helping the poor or families who lost their home to a fire.

Let me know what you think of this post.

