Breaking out

Standard

Today I got out of the house finally!  That might not seem like a big deal but to me it is.  I am constantly dealing with pain during the winter time and getting cold always makes it worse.  It warmed up some though and I really had a bad case of cabin fever.  I told my husband I wanted to go somewhere but I didn’t care where.  I just needed to get out!  We went to McDonald’s first and that was great.  I mainly only like the french fries but I had these new chicken… well it’s like popcorn chicken.  I also had a mocha and it was the best mocha I’ve had in a really long time.  Yeah, it was the only one I’ve had in a really long time too.

Incoming! on 365 Project

 

After that we went to Value Village where I looked all over the whole store but didn’t buy anything but books!  A friend turned me on to Clive Cussler and now I’m addicted.  I had already bought a bunch of his books.  I have a notebook of all the books I want and check them off when I get them.  That keeps me from buying it multiple times which I have done several times before.  Ol’ Clive has several different series so I listed them all down by series and in order.  I was really hoping to find the last two books in the Issac Bell series.  There are only 4 and I’m on the second one.  Well I found a bunch of other books I didn’t have but not the two I was looking for.  Some of them were really old so I got them pretty cheap.  After that we went to two more book stores but still didn’t find the books I was after.  Then we went shopping and I ended up buying the next book new.  I hate buying books new since I don’t keep them after I read them.  So I ended up getting 10 books for $29.  Not too bad for the money…… it is however, bad for my resolution I made to not buy any more books.  I’m supposed to be reading the books I have and getting rid of them.  I guess I can’t help it.  HELLO, MY NAME IS DONNA AND I AM A BOOKAHOLIC

While we were out we saw a RAINBOW.  I couldn’t believe it.  It is 10 below F and just as we were making a turn we could see behind this smoke billowing up the end of a rainbow.  We never did see the other end and of course I didn’t get a chance to take a picture.  Bummer.  It was really pretty out and not too cold although I still would like it to be warmer by about 90 degrees.

My youngest son Riley, the 15 year old, and his dad didn’t fair well today.  My husband stepped into his room before we left to ask him what size shoes he needed.  Riley smarted off to him I guess and was very disrespectful.  He was cocky because he just had a birthday and he was playing his games and wearing his new clothes his grandma sent him.  He didn’t think his dad could LEGALLY take away things that he was given for birthday’s and Christmas’s.  He actually threatened to call the police.  My husband told him he knew some of them and played cards with them.  Riley didn’t think that was funny.  He ended up swearing at his dad.  He said some things that made ME want to duck.  I have to say, my husband is a heck of a man to not have beat him to death.  He didn’t even touch him because he was afraid he was too angry.  He did take away everything even remotely fun that was in his room.  Every video game and the systems that run them.  He took the shopping bags from out groceries and loaded them up.  Riley is still moping in his room.  He went outside for a while which he expected to get us upset.  He’s done that before but when it was much colder.  This time I didn’t bite.  I could tell he was right outside by Blue’s perked up ears.  She does that when she can hear people walking in the yard.  I would bet, if I had any money, that after a few days he will start cleaning up everything and being extra nice in the hopes that he can get his stuff back early.  That won’t work though after what he said to his dad.

Anyway, I almost forgot to post my ATC cards that are for the ladybug swap.  The first one is the one I just did with colored pencils and watercolor Inktense pencils and the second one I did last September with colored pencils.

 

7 responses »

  1. I forget if I ever asked you this, but do you know about bookcrossing.com? You could search for books you are looking for and do swaps. I don’t participate much since I am no longer within walking distance of a post office. But I used to. That way, you don’t have to feel as guilty about the books you buy because you get to trade them for another book and then you have more to read for the cost of book rate postage. Great spot for bookoholics. 🙂

    • Yes, I do use bookcrossing but I’ve never used it to trade books. I’ve only registered books to leave “in the wild”. I do use a site called paperbackswap where I can trade books though.

      • Some people never leave books in the wild and just use bookcrossing for trades. If you see something you would like you let them know and ask if there’s one of your books they’d like to trade for. I did that several times back when I could get to the PO by myself. Since I moved to Fargo, I just release to the wild. My cleaning girl has a “free” table at work and she leaves them there.
        Anyways, sounds like you have two places for trades. Have you checked them for the book you’re still looking for in the series?

    • I have looked yet since I just figured out why I wasn’t finding these books as easily as the others. I mistakenly thought this was an older series but it is newer. The book I just bought was published in 2010 and the last book was just published last Aug. At Paperbackswap I can add it to my wish list and get “in line” so that when it’s my turn I get first dibs on the next one posted. You should check it out too. You can mail books right from your house. You print the label and postage if you want on regular printer paper and wrap your book. The have the weights for books in their system so they know how much postage you need. Then you just drop it in the mail. They go media mail or FC which ever is cheaper.

      • The trouble is we have a slot about half an inch wide for outgoing mail. I’d never leave anything down there by the mailboxes because it would just be swiped. It’s very difficult for me to catch the mailman. That’s why I just do the release now.

        I do order my stamps online, though. Thank goodness I can do that. 😉

Let me know what you think of this post.

