Blossom Street

Standard

I’ve been feeling sentimental lately.  That happens from time to time and I start missing my sister.  I miss my bothers too but not like I miss my sister.  Whenever this happens I end up reading more emotional books and listening to sappy music.  I feel sorry for the people who have to endure this little spell of mine.

So I’ve put aside my beloved Clive Cussler books that I’ve been devouring lately and I’m re-reading the first book in the Blossom Street Series by Debbie Macomber called “The shop on Blossom Street“.  I just feel the need to revisit “A Good Yarn” which is a little knitting store owned by Linda Hoffman, a cancer survivor.  It’s been a while since I read it and I can’t remember all of the details.  I just know that the characters are great.  Linda opens her store and has a knitting class to teach how to make a baby blanket.  The people who come together are all so different but become very close friends.  That is the thing that draws me to this book and other’s like it….. that friendship element.   Sisters are like good friends that never drift away, never get mad for long, and always remember your birthday.  My sister and I are a lot alike in some ways but so different in others.  She is the always happy, forgiving type sister and I’m the moody, hold a grudge till I die sister.  We balance each other out.

This book is also about knitting, which I love, and one of the characters in the book just happens to be making the blanket for Project Linus.  Of course its a court ordered community service type of deal and Alex is a little rough around the edges but this little group ends up helping each other out.  Alex is actually my favorite character.  The pattern for the blanket they are knitting is in the front of the book so you can actually make it too, in-between reading times of course.

I read several books in this series several years ago until I hit a brick wall.  I have to read books in order.  I just can’t stand skipping around.  So I found out that Debbie had written a short story that went with the series and it was in a book with a couple other short stories by different authors.  I could not find a copy of this book anywhere.  I finally put it on my wish list at www.paperbookswap.com and a while back I finally got a copy!  So now it has been so long that I feel like I need to start all over.  That is one bonus to getting old – old books become new again!

One response »

  1. Sorry you’re missing your sister. At least you have one you miss. My sister and I aren’t close and never have been. Opposites in many ways. I only get emails a few times a year. My brother and sister still live in Minneapolis and I haven’t seen them for many years. I rarely ever hear from my brother. Got an email a couple years ago when he became a grandpa (first one in the immediate family). At least you can talk to her on the phone and you like her–LOL! 😉

    I have trouble remembering books I read even a couple years ago–LOL! I understand. I’m the same with movies I watched years ago…I’ll remember as I go along, but I don’t always remember the ending right away–LOL! Hey–enjoy! Old becomes new again. 🙂

Let me know what you think of this post.

