Stream of Consciousness Sunday

Standard

#SOCsunday

Today’s Writing Prompt: What’s your take on fate? Does everything happen for a reason? Are we in control of our own destiny?

I don’t believe in fate.  I believe we make our choices and decide how our lives turn out.  We can make wrong decisions or right decisions.  When things go bad we can decide to wallow in self pity or pick ourselves up and try again or do something else.  I believe in God and that he has a plan for each of us but we don’t always listen to God.  So even God doesn’t decide how our lives turn out.  He just KNOWS.  We are all responsible for our own choices and actions.

When I was a kid my mom would always say “The Devil made you do it” when I did something bad and if I got a good grade on a test she would say the Lord helped me.  That was really frustrating for me because I never got credit for any of the hard work I put into studying.  That may sound silly but as I kid it was really frustrating.  The truth is, we do our own good and bad actions and the results our ours as well.  We can pray for guidance but we can also decided not to take it.

This was my 5 minute Stream of Consciousness Sunday post. It’s five minutes of your time and a brain dump. Want to try it? Go here to see how it works and link up your post.  

2 responses »

  1. I think everything has a spiritual lesson in it or happens for a reason. I think we have a path, a trajectory, or are here to learn certain lessons. Whether we progress or regress, the choice is ours. Of course, I believe (98%) in reincarnation so in that respect…we more or less make our own fate. 😉

    Have you done any crafting, journaling, or scrapbooking?

    • I did do some journaling but yesterday I wasn’t feeling well. It was a payback day for running around on Saturday. I barely had the energy to post anything. I’ll post my latest journal pages later but they got a little bit mangled. My dog decided she wanted some attention and rolled all over my pages. One of them got really wrinkled.

Let me know what you think of this post.

