Paperweight

Standard

I have a new paperweight or a doorstop….  my iron gave up the ghost.  I ironed 3 shirts and then it decided it had done enough.  Just a little bit before I had accidentally touched it with the edge of my hand and it was definitely hot!  That woke me right up but when I started on that 4th shirt it wasn’t hot anymore.  I told my husband that Cher used to iron her hair so maybe I could use my flat iron to finish his shirt LOL  He didn’t get it.

I haven’t been feeling very well. Not anything specific…. just tired.  It’s like a roller coaster…  some days I feel great and then I feel slow and tired for a few days.  I’m not complaining though.  Anything is better than feeling bad every day.  Before I would sometimes sleep for a few 24 hours straight but since the doctor changed my medicine I usually sleep 7 to 8 hours and wake up.  So even if I am slow moving at least I’m awake and can get some things done!

I love being up in the morning and the sun is still not up all the way.  Then I sit on the couch with my tea and watch it get brighter and brighter.  I can’t see the sunrise from inside the house but I know it must be beautiful.  My mind sure does paint a beautiful picture of it anyway.  Around noon the sun is blinding!  Its like someone is shining a spotlight right in my front window.  I have been seeing a few birds swooping around.  I can tell spring is coming.

I’ve decided I’m going to start over on my 365 project (taking a photo every day) in March.  It wont be so cold and it will be nice to get outside and take some pictures instead of trying to find something inside interesting enough to take a picture of.

My oldest son, Jared, is going to Anchorage tomorrow.  He’ll be gone for 5 days.  I’m not liking this!  One of his teachers asked him to join the academic decathlon.  One of their team members had to drop out and they had to have 9 members to participate.  This has put a little spring in Jared’s steps.  He is suddenly happy to study.  He stayed after school every day last week and went for a few day on Saturday and another full day today since there was no school (for parent/teacher conferences).  They leave tomorrow and I hope he does well.  The rest of the team has been studying the material all year!  He’s a smart cookie though.  He passed the SAT when he was 12 so I’m thinking he’ll be okay.

2 responses »

  1. I’m so glad you are awake more! Now, you’re like me–awake but on the zombie side–LOL! 😉 At least you can get a few things done, though, that’s right. 🙂

    I need to buy a new iron, too. But mainly because I have been using my old iron for years for craft projects and now that I want to start sewing again I really don’t want to use that iron on clean anything, you know? It’s really old and the steamer broke a couple decades ago, but it’s still good for crafts.

    I’m happy for Jared! Anything that gets him interested in learning has got to be good. 🙂 I hope they do well.

    I’m going to try melatonin again to see if that can help me get my sleeping to stay in more normal hours. What the heck. Got a bigger dose than what I tried several years ago.

    Hope you are having a great week! 🙂 🙂

    • I’m glad to be feeling better too. Today I just felt too tired and I slept or laid in bed till almost 2pm. I’m getting sick again and I don’t even think it’s been a month since I was sick last time. Maybe this time I wont get as sick since I’ve been taking a lot of vitamins to help boost my immune system.

      I don’t have an iron for crafts but I have a special toaster oven LOL One of my boys wanted to pull it out a while back to make garlic toast. I told them it would taste more like plastic than garlic. I guess I could get them another toaster oven but I hate having something that big taking up counter space. Its funny. I’ve got more counter space here than I have anywhere else and I still want to keep it clear.

      I’m glad for Jared too but I don’t like it that I wont see him for a week. I guess I better get used to that though. He’ll be 18 in April and it wont be long till he’s off on his own.

Let me know what you think of this post.

