Happy Friday!

Standard

For some reason, Friday’s are not as exciting as they used to be when I worked.  Now every day feels the same…. except that there are more people in the house during the weekend.   Anyway, I am finally starting to feel like I’m getting over this cold.  I had a killer headache yesterday but after I finally woke up I felt pretty human.  I even did a little writing in my journal.  I did lesson 4 in my SOAR journal and considering I started at the beginning of February I am not as behind as I thought.  There is a lesson a week for each week of the year so far.  I wanted to catch up but since I’ve been sick I wasn’t able to.  I’m happy just knowing I did one for each week.

Here are a couple of pages I did using the graphics I printed up from the lesson.  I really like the To Do lists.  These graphics make it so much fun and every lesson comes with new graphics!  I love them all.  As you can see I just get out my markers and doodle around them and on them, which is fun.  She also provided some nice pages to use in my journal for February.  There is a cover and she explained how to put them together to make a journal just for February but I just cut them in half and stuck them in my journal.  These pages are the white, back-sides of those pages.

Each lesson also comes with a nice colorful quote and since my pages are half sheets I can print them to fit one of my pages.  I didn’t take a picture of the quote page but it says, “Love is always bestowed as a gift – freely, willingly, and without expectation.  We don’t love to be loved, we love to love.”  – Leo Buscaglia

I thought that was a nice quote for February.

I didn’t take pictures of all of my journal pages because there is just a bunch of writing.  I also used a shiny pen on some of the pages and that doesn’t photograph well.  I also don’t put the lesson pages in my journal.  I’ve noticed a lot of people do.  I don’t even print them.  I just read them online and then journal from there.  That way my journal will have more room for my thoughts.



I thought this was really funny.  The lesson had talked about different thinking types and asked what my type was and then what type the other people around me were.  I was thinking about my youngest son Riley (15 years old).  He’s the odd one in the family.  My husband and my oldest son are easy and they are the same.  Sometimes I think the stork that brought Riley came from outer-space.  He opened the refrigerator and I told him we needed to clean it out because it didn’t smell so good.  He said,

There are so many things in there, of course it smells funny.  I wonder if it would taste good, like an everything bagel.

This is what he is like all the time!  He reminds me a lot of my little brother who was/is  always a clown too.

On this page I decided to use my new embosser I got on ebay.  It is actually an old gadget from McGill called “Emboss Art”.  They are not so easy to find these days.  I rubbed a little ink from an ink pad over it with my finger to make it show up better.  This is my favorite design.

Now I am ready for the next lesson.  Maybe I can catch up a little this month.  I am really thankful to Anita for putting on this free class at her website called “Just Be Yourself“.  You can still join if you are interested. You just have to join the site first and then you can sign up for the class.

Now for the NaBloPoMo prompt of the day.

Friday, March 2, 2012
Would you rather make your own choices or have someone make them for you

I really had enough of other people making my choices for me before I left my childhood home.  Now that I am on my own, I much prefer to make my own choices.   I can screw up just fine on my own, thank you very much.  My kids are old enough now that I think they can make the majority of their own choices too.  What time to get up in the morning is one they usually need my help on though.  Of course, being married I do have to consider my husband on some things. I can’t decide to have a boyfriend these days.  Shucks.   My husband wouldn’t find that very amusing.  I also have to think of him if I am getting something for the house, spending a big chunk of money or making any big parenting decisions but he doesn’t choose what I eat at a restaurant.  I am not the kind of wife my mom was; I am too stubborn for that.  The thing is, I don’t think my husband would have wanted a wife like that.  He knows what I like and goes out of his way to make me happy.  I also know what he likes, so sometimes I choose to make steaks for dinner and he is very appreciative.

How about you?  Is it easier to let someone else make your choices for you?  I know I sometimes wish someone would decide for me when I’m looking at a dozen different paint samples and I often wish someone would put me on a diet like I do my dog.  Put me in the kennel if I keep getting in the frig.

2 responses »

  1. Nice that you’re having fun with the SOAR journal. 🙂

    I’ve never, ever been good with people making decisions for me. 😉

    Hope you’re having a good weekend. 🙂

  2. Happy to see you’re feeling better, and it sounds like you’re feeling good about working in your Soar journal! I love what you’re doing with it, and I must say that it makes me feel good hearing how everyone is using the different bits…thank you SO much for sharing!

Let me know what you think of this post.

