Night Owl

Standard

Even though I have always worked really hard at being awake during the day time so I can enjoy the sunshine these days I find myself hiding from it.  My eyes are horrible!  I think I’m turning into a vampire or something.  Maybe a hybrid of some sort so instead of going up in flames in sunlight my eyes just feel like they are.  The last couple of days have been beautiful but I stayed in my room in the dark.  I can’t stand to have the light on or look at a lit screen for long.  I’ve been reading by the little slit of light that comes from the edge of the curtain in my room and listening to music.  I can’t wait until I get my crazy prescription sunglasses!  I have been putting the drops in my eyes like the doctor ordered but my eyes still burn.  I just want to fill the tub with ice water and stick my head it and open my eyes.

Yesterday I ended up sleeping most of the day since the allergy meds make me tired.  After the sun with down (as far as it goes here in Alaska) I went out and took my dog for a stroll through the park and played around in my garden a tiny bit.  After the walk I didn’t have much energy left.  Today I slept a lot but woke up around 1pm.  I came out to hang out with the family but couldn’t handle the light so I retreated back to my room – and the dark.  I realized there isn’t much to do in my room.  I really don’t spend much time in there.  I got out my Kindle and played with that some.  I can read for a while with the screen set to a yellow background but then I have to take a break from it to rest my eyes.  I forgot how much I love my Kindle fire!  I read, played games, read some more, listened to some audio files, looked at every single app available on there and then read some more.  UGH, I was so bored.  I couldn’t crochet or knit or anything like that because my eyes were blurry and it was dark.  I listened to my husband hanging out with the boys though.  I love him so much for being such a good dad.  He was going to go out with some friends but decided to stay home instead and hang out with the boys.  They watched movies and played cards.  They play Magic the Gathering and between the three of them they probably have enough of those cards to fill a small room.  I love listening to them all laugh though.

My husband and the guys made dinner and I really wished I could have eaten at the table with them but I just couldn’t.  There are a lot of windows in the living room/kitchen area- my favorite thing about this house actually.  One of my boys brought me dinner in bed with a big glass of orange juice.  They made chicken fettuccine and garlic bread.  I’m so blessed with such a wonderful family.

After a while the sun went down and I went outside and tried to dig around in my garden.   I put my seedlings out and set a timer to remind me to take them in.  I need to harden them off still or the wind and cool air will kill them.  It was surprisingly warm out though!  I thought I could work in my garden until the timer went off but after a little shoveling and a lot of swatting at the mammoth mosquitoes I was beat!  I looked at the timer and it had only been 12 minutes!   I went inside for a little rest and then went back out and worked a few minutes in the back yard.  I got tired again and went back inside to rest and then the timer finally went off so I could bring the plants in.  I’ll do a little more tomorrow.  The guys and I (hopefully are going to do some yard work.  I found my husband’s sunglasses so hopefully I can stand being outside so I can direct them.  While I was in my room playing on the Kindle I made some “to-do” lists with an app.  Since the boys are home from school I am going to put them to work.

It really is frustrating to have to hide from the sun after waiting all winter for it.

4 responses »

  1. What a bummer! The light only bothers me when I have a migraine type of headache. Do you have a headache, too? I hope things will be better after you get your sunglasses. Lots better! 🙂 🙂

    • No, thank goodness I don’t have a migraine too. I went through a bunch recently (triggered from the light) but it has been a little while since I’d had one *knock on wood* my eyes are just really inflamed and swollen and puffy…. and I know I’m being very redundant LOL

  2. Oh Donna its horrible when everything come at you at once. I got a couple of types of arthritis and also fibro and the eyes are trashed half the time (I get eye migraines and also have the horrible optic neuritis). I use a support forum in the UK (I live there) and we have a saying ‘one day at a time’ and its so true flower. You did well to do 12 mins feeling as you did so look at it a different way if you can.

    You hang in there and tomorrow may well be a better day… I hope it is. Cris

    • Thank you. I try to stay positive but it can be hard. My boys are helping me in the yard today so I can do some planting soon. I can’t wait to see flowers!

Let me know what you think of this post.

