Yarn Give away

Standard

On All Free Crochet you can enter to win three skeins of Magenta(ish) Stitch.Rock.Love Sheep(ish) Vickie Howell Yarn for Caron!  Click this Link to learn more about it and enter and bookmark the site so you can go back to enter every day until June 6th.  I love to crochet and don’t have much money to spend since I”m not working so I would love to win.

It has been rainy here which is good for washing away pollen but bad for gardening.  I really want to get my seedlings planted.  I am glad that I didn’t put them out already though because the rain would have ruined them.  We had a nice week of sun just before the rain so I thought about it.  My husband and my boys have been helping to clean up in the yard and get the grass raked and the gardens cleaned up.  It looks a lot better than before.  I have started some miniature morning glories, sweet peas and another vining flower that I hadn’t seen before and they are growing great and trying to tangle together.  I can’t wait to get them planted where I want them so they can vine away.

I used toilet paper rolls to plant my seeds in this year and it works great!  You just flatten them and then open and flatten again so they have 4 creases – making a square.  Then you snip with scissors on the creases only about 1/2 inch.  I used a pair of fiskars deckled scissors so that the edges are bumpy and hold better.  Then you fold the flaps just like you do to close the top of a box – folding one side and then the next going around until you get to the last one and tuck in the corner so it stays closed.  If it slicks up some like a pyramid just push down gently and it inverts so that the pyramid is inside – that is actually better and keeps it from coming open.  I used a milk carton turned on it’s side with the top side cut off to put the toilet paper rolls in.  That keeps them standing up and you can keep water in the bottom of the milk carton to keep the rolls wet.   When you are ready to plant just plant the rolls and all and they disintegrate.  They work better than the little pots you buy at the store to do the same thing.  It just takes a little bit of time to get the toilet paper rolls ready but it cost me nothing.

When I get a chance I’ll take a picture.

My eyeballs are still burning.  I can’t decide if it’s getting better or I’m just getting used to it.  I can’t wait until my new glasses come in.  Starting next month I will really need them because I’ll be taxi mom again.  The dark glasses will really help when I drive.  I have actually been told not to drive until I get them so I’m listening.  I don’t want to cause an accident.

2 responses »

    • Thanks Rita, I really like how the tp rolls worked for planting. In June my youngest son goes to summer school and I have a whole bunch of appointments scheduled. Also my oldest has to get a job or he’s going to end up living in a tent with no where to plug in his computer. wouldn’t that be sad?

Let me know what you think of this post.

