Change of season, change of pace

Standard

As the leaves start to turn and the air gets cooler I am feeling a change in myself as well.  I find myself wanting to stay indoors snuggled up in a warm blanket with a good book or drawing, painting, crocheting, knitting, sewing or tatting.  I wish the yard would clean itself up.  I’ve been so tired lately.

I have already read a few books and I even organized my bookshelf somewhat.  It still needs some work but I went through and found some duplicates and purged some books so they at least all fit on the shelves.  I had stacks of books and patterns on the floor and I didn’t want them to get wet once people started tracking in snow.  I actually added all of my books to goodreads.com (well, not counting the books in the garage) so I could be sure of what I had and what I was looking for.   Now I have decided to read some of my precious books instead of just hording them.  There are certain books I know I really wanted to read because I had multiple copies of them.  Right now though, I really want to re-read the Blossom Street series by Debbie Macomber.  I read several of the books a few years ago and then I realized I had them out of order and that there were a few side stories that tie in with the series that I’d missed.  So I stopped reading and went looking for the rest of the books.  I really hate to read books out of order.  I have re-read the first 3 or 4 and I’m now reading a Christmas story that tied in with the series.  So far I’m not loving it but we will see…. could be that it just isn’t Christmas yet.  I also read the first book in the Fablehaven series and it was REALLY good.  It’s written for kids aged 9-12 but I loved it.  My husband read it too.  Now I can’t wait to read the next one.

Today is Riley’s 1st day of high school.  I know he’s excited because he’s taking Japanese.  He’s been waiting all summer.  I can’t wait until he gets home and tells me how his day went.

Yesterday was the first day of a diet I’m doing.  When I was going through my books I found one for a 10 week weight loss plan.  It’s called Kathy Smith’s Fitness Makeover.  It has pages for writing in what you eat and for noting the exercises you do.  Each week focuses on something specific and this week is fat and abs.  So now my fat on my abs is sore.  I am very weak so hopefully this will help me build up some strength.  The information in the book does not seem outdated at all.  The toning pages tell you what exercises to do and in the back it explains how with a picture.  This book was published in 1997.  I’m pretty sure I haven’t had it that long but I think it’s funny that it is coming in really handy for me now.

Okay, I’m going to take a short nap before I have to wake Riley up for school.

4 responses »

  1. Definitely read The Forgotten Garden. It was one of the better novels I’ve read in a long, long time.
    I wish it was getting cooler here. Actually, I guess it is since it finally dropped down into the 90’s again. 🙂

    • Thanks Rebekah, I’ll definitely have to get that book. Hey, let me know if you are interested in any of the parenting books on my goodreads shelf because I don’t think I’m going to read them. My kids are pretty much grown now. It would have been a lot more helpful if I’d read them before now.

  2. Haven’t read any of those. Glad to see you back online, though! I’m tearing my place apart and reorganizing all my art and craft supplies. New wall shelf unit and bookcase–and want things organized before the snow flies.

    Hope Riley enjoys learning Japanese. That seems really hard to learn. Have a great weekend. 🙂

    • Hey Rita, I’ve really missed reading about the stuff you do and talking to you and getting your letters. I’ve been keeping busy during the summer and haven’t been online very much. I’ve been doing a lot of cleaning and organizing too. Mainly I’ve been clearing out some clutter. I’ve been taking a garbage back of stuff to the thrift store almost every week or every other week. I can already tell it is looking better in here. I just suddenly decided I wanted to see more clear space. Now that it is getting cooler outside you’ll be seeing me online more. I don’t do well when I get cold.

Let me know what you think of this post.

