Getting in shape

Standard

Or changing the shape I am now.  I am tired of being a marshmallow.  Recently I went out with some girlfriends and we got pedicures and manicures

My Feet are the on the left :O)

and then went out to eat and then to a party after.  I had a lot of fun but when I saw the picture afterwards I was horrified.  I saw this one picture and thought, “who is that?” and it was me!  I wore this top that ties high above the waist and it looked like a maternity top on me.  It looked like I was 9 months pregnant!   I thought I looked good in that top but I guess I never look at myself from the side and I had eating a piece of cake that must have had dairy in it so I got sick to my stomach and bloated.  So now I am really working harder at losing weight.  Of course I still have to be careful not to cause my fibromyalgia to flare up.  I had this book on my bookshelf called “Kathy Smith’s fitness Makeover” and started it last week.  This is an old book – published in 97 but it still looks like a good book and has clear pictures to explain the exercises.  It is funny that they tell you to get a book that shows the calories for a lot of different foods when now that information is so easy to obtain on the internet.  Shows how fast things change these days.  I am using the book along with myfitnesspal.com.  The book has pages for writing in what you eat but I just enter it on myfitnesspal and it automatically tells me the nutrition information.   The book also has a toning fitness plan for each week and of, of course, my first attempt at that wiped me out.  I was down for a full day and a half and then still in pain for several more days.  Today is the first day I was not in pain so it took about a week to get over that.  So now I’ve decided to break the routines down across the week and each week of the plan I’ll spread across two weeks.  I just have to be a little creative here.  I do like having a set plan to follow though.  I think it helps me to have a routine and I use Cozi.com (a free calendar/to-do & shopping list application) to schedule times for workouts.  I also found that I prefer to snack throughout the day instead of having 3 meals which the book also recommends.  I plan out what I’m going to eat instead of just winging it and that keeps me from going overboard.  Hopefully I’ll start to see the pounds drop off soon because I need to see some results!

I’ve started watching a little girl that is going to be starting kindergarten this year.  Kindergarten here is only half days and I remember the hassle that causes us when my youngest was in kindergarten and I had gone back to work.  I was happy to help my friend deal with that without going bankrupt.  What I didn’t realize is how much fun I’d have doing this. This little girl is so sweet!  I bought out this box I have full of various headbands and hair things and small box of jewelry odds and ends and she is content to play with those things.  She loves to put them on me too.  Then we go over to the park to play.  She really makes me wish I’d had a girl but I’m done with having kids.  It would really be strange to have another when my youngest is almost 16!  I think I’m happy borrowing this little one.  I am also going to be teaching art classes to another young girl soon and I can’t wait till then.  This girl really enjoys art that focuses on nature and that is just right up my alley.  I am thinking of doing an altered book with her.  I found a nice sized book with a nice cover and it is an outdated law manual.  I hate destroying books but this one is useless now.  I’m excited to see what I can do with it.  

 

One response »

  1. I know what you mean about trying to exercise with fibro. It’s walking a fine line. My doctor told me to just start out with 3-5 minute sessions once or twice a day and then slowly work up to making them a little longer until you find out where it is too much. You remind me to try to do that again. I was doing those walking type videos–Leslie something?

    It must be very different having a little girl around. I only had a boy to raise, too. Enjoy!! 🙂

Let me know what you think of this post.

