With Thanksgiving

Standard

“Appreciation is the highest form of prayer, for it acknowledges the presence of good wherever you shine the light of your thankful thoughts.”  ~Alan Cohen

Today is the first day of November and I have many things to be thankful for….

  1. Halloween is over!  *bah humbug! I really can’t get into the spirit
  2. Halloween is over!!  Now it is time to buy some cheap candy for me!  YUM!
  3. Halloween is finally over and I can sneak out some Christmas decorations without getting mocked… too much.
  4. I am thankful for birthday cake this month
  5. I am thankful for turkey too, with all the fixings.
  6. I am thankful for my two teen-aged boys who help me cook.
  7. I am thankful for my husband who loves me so much (and buys me birthday presents LOL)
  8. I am thankful for my extended family who keep in touch on facebook.
  9. I am thankful for my home I get to clean.
  10. I am thankful for the hands I have to craft with.

Here is the new picture of my dishcloth set I just made called “Sunshine & Rainbows – Starfish & Dish-Urchin.   The other picture (from yesterday’s post) was not making me happy.  I like this one much better.  I got the pattern for the starfish at Lily Sugar n’ Cream but you have to register (free) to view it.  Of course I changed up the colors and added my little tags.  I really like them :O)

I am working on another set of flower dishcloths now.  Crocheting these helps me keep my mind off the fact that my wrists are aching and swollen right now.  Having a hobby keeps me focused and then I’m not concentrating on the aches and pains that come with having fibromyalgia and osteoarthritis.  I am blessed to know how to knit, crochet & make tatted lace among other things.  If my hands hurt and I can’t crochet I can sometimes knit and if I can’t knit then I can tat…and if all else fails I turn Pain into Painting.  I make artist trading cards when I can’t focus enough to make something bigger.  Some of those that I made when I was in pain turned out to be the most liked by others.  Having my new etsy craft store gives me a goal to strive for.  Another blessing is that I don’t munch so much because I don’t want to get the things I’m making dirty so I hope it will help my diet too.

I also signed up for NaBloPoMo (National Blog Posting Month) again so I will be writing every day this month.  I have so many things to be thankful for and this month I’m going to spend every day remembering that.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: A Month of Thankfulness « Dr. Sherry E. Showalter – "Keepin It Real"

Let me know what you think of this post.

