With Thanksgiving 2

Standard

“We can be bitter about our shortcomings; or we can be thankful for our blessings.” ~ Unknown

I wasn’t feeling well today.  I overdid it yesterday when I went to go get groceries yesterday evening without any help.  I have fibromyalgia so if I overdo things I end up sleeping for hours and have a lot of pain.  I usually take one of my teen-aged boys with me and they go and get things on the list and bring it back to the cart so I don’t have to run around as much.  They also load and unload the car so I don’t have to carry so much.  I thought I could handle it myself this time since I have been exercising and trying to get stronger but I was exhausted by the time I got home.  It didn’t help that it was 4 below zero and foggy out and the cold always makes my pain worse.  I was so wiped out and went right to bed when I got home.  The boys did unload the groceries and put them away for me.  I got up a while this morning but took a nap and ended up sleeping till 10 pm.  I slept my whole day away.

  • I am thankful that I have two strong boys to help me when I need it
  • I am thankful for a body that still works.  I may have pain but I am not wheelchair bound.
  • I am thankful for a warm bed to sleep in.
  • I am thankful for a warm car to drive.
  • I am thankful for my warm garage so I don’t have to drive a cold car.
  • I am thankful for Blue, my beagle who knows when I don’t feel well and sleeps beside me.

4 responses »

  1. Oh Donna I have fibro as well and its an evil companion! You give that lovely girl a cuddle from me and my beagle as well and hang in there as tomorrow may well be a better day. Cris x

  2. Pingback: Thanksgiving is a time to be Thankful… « The Sexy Politico's Blog

  3. I’ve been miserably sick the past couple weeks and am just now getting to the slow recovery side. When we have all these other issues, getting sick on top of it is harder on us, I think. Well, it takes us longer to get over it and bounce back, I should say. But keeping in mind what we have to be grateful for is always a good thing. When I was so sick and couldn’t sleep for coughing–I was soooo grateful to be here in my little apartment with electricity and heat when all those people were dealing with Sandy! Staying positive actually helps make you feel better, I think. And snuggling with a furbaby doesn’t hurt, either. 😉

Let me know what you think of this post.

