Knitting Escapades

Image

IMG_0148

Double Diamond Circular Facecloth

This was a learning experience for me.  I taught myself to knit at least 5 years ago….hmmm maybe 7 but I never did anything challenging.  This was a huge challenge for me.  I ripped this out several times and my dog helped me rip it out once too.  I had to learn to relax so I could knit 2 and 3 stitches together in one which can be tricky.  I learned the provisional cast on which uses a scrap piece of yarn to hold stitches that can later be placed on a needle and knit in the other direction or you can kitchener two edges together (as above) and avoid leaving a seam.  So, that is another thing I learned – how to kitchener, or weave stitches together so it blends in with the rest of the knitting.  Mine is not perfect but is better than I thought I could do.  I’m very happy with it.  I made this face cloth for a Christmas gift and wrapped it up with some rose french milled soap.

The pattern is free on Ravelry.com 

7 responses »

  1. I had to catch up on all your posts. I really like your knitting/crochet projects. I’ve been saying for years that I wish I knew how to do that kind of stuff. I’ve even learned the basic stitches a few times but I always forget.

    Hey, have you read the shopaholic books? They’re really funny. The only thing I don’t like is some of the language, but seriously, they’re hilarious.

  2. Pingback: Austerity Christmas Continues | OX KNIT

  3. Pingback: Learning Something New « the many facets of donna

  4. Pingback: Apply Yourself! « the many facets of donna

Let me know what you think of this post.

