Hard as Nails

Standard

Well not my nails.  I have nails as hard as paper and it has really been bothering me lately.  I want strong nails that will look decent polished clear or whatever color I choose but they always chip, peel, bend and break.  I don’t want to go get fake nails every couple weeks because I think they really damage nail beds and it is also expensive.  I heard that gel polish was really good for growing out nails so I tried it.  It was of course nice to have nails that felt strong and polish that lasted longer but then after the polish was removed I was disappointed in the scuffing of the nail surface they did before applying it.  My nails are thin enough!

So I have decided to do some experiments at home.  My nails had grown while I had the gel polish on but the tips were so thin and bent like paper.  When I was typing I could feel them bend around the tips of my fingers.  I trimmed them down and went to the store to look for something that might help make them stronger.  I don’t want to just paint my nails with something stronger; I want to grow them stronger.  Of course I know I came by my weak nails honestly.  My grandmother said she also had weak nails.  She apologized for that and for my lack of boobage which she says I got from her too.  I told her it was an honor to get anything from her.  She was a strong lady that I am proud to be related to.  Now she is one of my angels and who could ask for any better?

Anyway, back to my pathetic nails – hard as a feather pillow.  I bought some Sally Hansen VitaSurge Growth Gel.  It says, “grow longer nails in 5 days!”  so lets see if that works for my nails of velum.  It looks pretty cool.  It is a light translucent kiwi green gel with little blue balls floating in it.  The applicator is like a covered orange stick and is used to apply and massage in the gel.  The gel then dries clear.  On the back of the package it says “How it works: Multi-active bead infused formula instantly releases a surge of vitamins A, C & E to nourish & treat nails for healthy growth.  Instantly hydrates & conditions brittle, hard-to-grow nails.” I also take vitamins so hopefully they will start to get stronger.

Now I did buy something to help reinforce my nails.  I apply it over the gel after it has dried.  It is Sally Hansen Maximum Strength.  This one says “Cellulose fibers form a micro-mesh barrier that supports and protects nails, making them stronger and more resistant to damage.”  You apply this every other day.

Today makes the 3rd day that I’ve been applying these products.  I really hope I will start to see an improvement in my nails.

Now I am also looking online for information on growing healthy nails and this page has some good information on vitamins that help.  I am going to read more and then go visit my local health food store.

“You are only as invincible as your smallest weakness, and those are tiny indeed – the length of a sleeping baby’s eyelash, the span of a child’s hand. Life turns on a dime, and – it turns out – so does one’s conscience.”
― Jodi PicoultPerfect Match

10 responses »

    • Well that’s good to hear. Since I’ve been having stomach problems I’ve been making orange jello with a bit of ginger like a tea. It is really good too.

  1. Stopping by from NaBloPoMo with what worked for me: biotin. I took a separate biotin supplement back in the day, now I just take a prenatal multivitamin because it has plenty in it. By itself, it shouldn’t cost too much. And if regular grocery stores don’t have it, I assure you that Whole Foods Market does. Good luck!

  2. That does make sense! My mom always used hoof cream on her hands after seeing what it did for her horses. There was always a jar of it by the kitchen sink.

  3. I’ve had periods where my nails were weaker than other times. I’ve had fake nails at times and, like you, hate my nails afterwards. I SWEAR by Sally Hansen products and dairy even though that lactose intolerant thing can be an issue at times :).

    • That’s very interesting. I didn’t think about it until you mentioned that but I was recently told to cut out dairy because I am lactose intolerant. I’ve found I can have small amounts but I have to be careful. Now I wonder if that is why my nails seem so bad. They have always been thin but they are especially thin now. Hopefully the products I’m using will help over time. I just had one tear across and it couldn’t possibly get any shorter.

  4. Pingback: I see the light…at least that’s what I hope it is « Run4joy59's Blog

Let me know what you think of this post.

