Sick but colorful

Standard

I have been so sick.  I think I have the black plague.  It just wont go away!  I have been sick since about the 2nd week of January.  I’ll have a day or so where I think, “hey, I think I’m getting better” and then usually that night I’ll get really insanely sick again and cough all night.  I’m not even sure I have any lungs now.  I’ve been coughing so hard my throat is raw and I sound like…..a frog…a really scary, craggy, next to dead frog.  I haven’t been able to do anything creative and I’ve been barely able to read or focus on anything for long.  I don’t want to try to make a card either because I don’t want to contaminate all my craft stuff and I really don’t think anyone would like a cute card laced with Black Plague cootie glitter.  But, I always seem to find a way to do something art/craft related.

I introduce you to Colourlovers.com

I found this a while back actually and didn’t realize it.  I have a twitter account that I still am not sure what to do with or why I have it at all…. but I was messing around with the design of my profile and they have this thing called Themeleon.  I clicked on that and was taken to this website which is part of the above mentioned “colourlovers” website.  They have some really cool designs to use as backgrounds and really nice color palettes.  That must have been in the fall because I had this neat fall leaves design going on.  I decided it was time to change that to something more springy but at the moment it seems to be broken. I hope they will fix it soon. Anyway, I ended up clicking the header that says “Colour Lovers” and went to the main website and there I stayed….. playing with digital paint for a very long time.

So there are these 5 blocks of gray.  I can play with the rainbow thing until I find a color I like and click to set it and move to the next square.  After I have five colors chosen for my palette I name it.  It is then available to use to color designs by me or anyone else that is a member.  People can “love” your palettes and your designs and leave you nice comments.  Also, if you happen to use a color that no one has named yet, you get to name it and it goes in a list of “your colors”  I have a ton of colors.

I really enjoy creating palettes and designs using inspiration around me like music or a pretty fabric bag.  I get creative with the names also.

I usually watch the Voice and American Idol but this whole week I have missed all shows because I’ve been so sick.  I was able to listen to the American Idol performances on Youtube and I was inspired by Jessica Meuse’s performance of Call Me by Blondie.

I really love her because of her COLOR.  The pink she has in her hair is a color I love.  Then she added some blue as a sign of her support for Autism Awareness and that is another color I love.  National Autism Awareness Month this year began on Tuesday, April 1 and ends on Wednesday, April 30.  Show your support by sporting some blue.

I don’t know how she pulls off those colors in her hair but she does.  I know if I tried it I would just look like a clown.

I designed this palette inspired by Jessica Meuse.

JessicaMeuseCallMe
Color by COLOURlovers

And here is where I applied those colors to a striped pattern

Color_me_your_color
Vector Patterns by COLOURlovers
I can create my own designs using shapes and lines they have available or I can color designs other people have made. I am so glad I found this creative outlet for times like this.

Oh, and I did enjoy her singing.  I have listened to that video about a hundred times.  Nearly all the performances from Wednesday night were very good and I keep playing them all.  I really think they should just quit right now and just make them all Idols.  I really hate the eliminations.  It always makes me cry.

Let me know what you think of this post.