Daily Archives: December 25, 2012

Weekly Photo Challenge: Surprise

Standard

Share a picture which means SURPRISE to you!

Surprise!  Your pedicure is over!

I decided to treat myself to a pedicure and manicure just before Christmas.  I had saved up money so I could have a nice relaxing…. peaceful…………blissful………………. time at the spa.  While I’m sitting there with my feet soaking in wonderful smelling water and loving the massage chair these firemen came and said we needed to get out immediately.  ERRRRG  The person doing my pedicure tried to quickly dry off my feet but they still felt wet when I slipped them into my boots to go outside in the 40 below weather.

I was determined to get my nails done though so I sat at the parking lot across the street and read a book until everything was determined safe and then I went back.  Turned out something was too close to a furnace and was melting but there was no actual fire.  Apparently it was big news in Fairbanks though because I watched as Channel 11 news showed up and interviewed people.  A poor soul that I’m assuming worked for the newspaper was out there taking pictures at 40 below too.  I, however, was nice and toasty in my car – thawing out my wet feet.

As soon as the coast was clear I went back and they really gave me the royal treatment since my relaxing pedicure was interrupted.  Aaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh……….

So now my nails (all 20 of them) are smooth and polished a sparkly red!

I had a few more surprises too.  Before I woke up on Christmas Eve a gift was dropped off for me but I don’t know who it was from.  There was this cute little felt bag with snowflakes on it.

IMG_0169

Inside the little bag was another present – A pretty necklace with a snowflake inside!  I love the pretty blue stone!

IMG_0170

There was also another gift wrapped in tissue paper which turned out to be the cutest platter of flower shaped rice crispy treats with frosting stems on a cute platter. IMG_0168

 

Oh, and last but not least, I received a surprise package from my sister that contained lots of edible goodies and the coolest socks.  There were 4 pair but these are the ones I chose to wear for Christmas Day.

Cool socks!