Quaker Real Medleys Oatmeal

Standard

I got the Peach Almond in my Holiday VoxBox from Influenster and decided to try it this morning.

I really don’t like oatmeal because my mom used to cook the heck out of it.  When she was done with it you could turn the pot upside down and make a pot shaped jello mold of gray matter.  It didn’t matter what it tasted like because it was so slimy it resembled a science experiment that got left in the frig until it grew eyeballs.  I have not eaten oatmeal since I’ve been an adult and free to make my own choice on what NOT to eat.

This, however, smelled really good even through the packaging.  I love peaches and almonds!  So I decided to add less water so it would be more firm.  It is impossible to describe how good this is.  It tasted like heaven.  The peaches were real chunks of peaches… not just artificially flavored pieces of who knows what.  The pieces of almonds were small but added great flavor.  I cannot wait to try some of the other flavors.  There’s also Apple Walnut, Summer Berry & Cherry Pistachio.

 

 

I love apple anything but unfortunately I’m allergic to walnuts so I wont be able to try that one.  The others sound really good though especially the Cherry Pistachio!  I am definitely going to get more of these.

My house still smells like peaches and I’m loving it.  I see that is available on Amazon.com but I’m hoping I can find it locally and on sale.  The card in my package says these are about $1.79 each.  I think that is not bad for a good healthy breakfast that tastes great and is easy to prepare but I am always looking to save money any way possible.

I’m also going to recycle the plastic container for planting this spring.  It is the perfect size to move seedlings into to allow them more room to grow before moving to the garden.   Too bad the container isn’t biodegradable material but then maybe it wouldn’t be suitable for making oatmeal in.  The lid will help to catch water on the bottom.  I added a small piece of tape to cover the steam holes in the lid but it wont last long since it is cardboard.  Only the ring is plastic.

Recycled Quaker Real Medleys oatmeal container for starting plants

Recycled Quaker Real Medleys oatmeal container for starting plants

Let me know what you think of this post.