Weekly Photo Challenge: Delicate

Standard

My maternal grandmother was born in the year 1900.  My family moved to Alaska in 1975 when I was 3 years old so I never got to see her very much.  I grew up so far away from her home in Georgia.  I always wished I could have known her better.  I know she liked to make things like my mom did and also my sister and I did.

Just recently I posted a picture of something I tatted on facebook.  I taught myself how to tat using books from the library and a few websites.  One of my aunts saw the picture and told me my grandmother also tatted.  She told me my grandmother would be so proud of me.  I don’t know how to explain how this made me feel.  It made me feel some sort of connection with her that I didn’t have before.  My aunt sent me this little baby shoe that my grandmother was working on and apparently put it away to keep it safe and forgot about it.

I held this delicate little shoe in my hand and thought about my grandmother’s hands touching those same threads.  I wish she was still here so I could tat with her but since she isn’t I will just keep tatting and thinking of her.

IMG_0122

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Delicate « My Tropical Home

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Delicate | Mike Hardisty Photography

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Delicate « MKG- Memories-Keepsakes-Gifts

Let me know what you think of this post.