I Plead the Fifth…. or kill you with my eyes

Standard

WordPress Daily Prompt: What question do you hate to be asked? Why?

I hate it when I walk in someplace and someone sees me and asks the usual canned questions.  Most of the time, since people know I have health problems, I get this one.

“Donna!  How are you feeling?” 

I have fibromyalgia and I live with chronic pain… all the time, every day.  I don’t get better.  I spend most of the time cooped up in my house because every time I go out to do something if wipes me out.  If I make it to an event or to church (once in a blue moon) I always get asked that question by everyone and the last thing I want to do is tell the truth.

“I feel like shit, how about you?”  (Smile)

The thing that irritates me the most is that most people don’t really care about the answer.  It is just like when people say, “Hey, how are you doing?”  It is just one of those things that people say to have something to say.  I have had people ask me that dreaded question and then walk off before I could say anything so they could greet the next person and say, “Hey, so-n-no, it’s good to see you!  How have you been?”

It would be better to just say, “It is so good to see you” and leave it at that.

Of course I know people mean well.   It is just a matter of which shoes you walk in.  This has made me more aware of how other’s feel.  I think a little longer before I speak now.

6 responses »

  1. They do mean well. They’re trying to express that they care. :):)
    That’s better than people trying to tell you to use mind over matter or that you’re not thinking positive enough and things like that. I’ve even been told I didn’t have enough faith. How do you feel–sounds pretty tame–LOL! 😉

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Plead the Fifth | writinglikeastoner

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Hate to Love | Stuph Blog

  4. Pingback: Inspiration: Dig Deeper For Gratitude… | Mirth and Motivation

  5. Pingback: The Question I Hate The Most | Beyond Beauty Tips

Let me know what you think of this post.