Daily Archives: November 9, 2011

A little Nostalgic

Standard

Thinking back to when I was a kid… I miss those days sometimes. Not that I miss living at home. I really like having my own home and not having to live by someone elses rules that don’t make sense to me. I just miss those days when I was a kid and played all day in the sunshine. I miss riding my banana seat bike and doing tricks on it that would bring my mom running outside screaming at me to get down. I would get going really fast and then stand on the seat with one foot on the steering wheel (I was always barefoot and used my toes to keep the handle bar straight) and put my hands out until I lost momentum and had to get down. I was always a tom boy… looking back at the pictures I was a dirty little girl with dirty hair and face like Mogli from jungle book. Well, at least after the age of 5. My sister, who is 13 years older than me, left home when I was 5 so the pictures of me from that time were always cute. I was usually dressed up in cute little dresses… usually red with my auburn hair in pigtails. I miss my sister a lot! She and I look a lot alike! Funny thing is, even though she left home when I was only 5 and after that she was in another state and I hardly ever saw her, we still do many things the same and like the same things. When I went down for the funeral I went shopping for a pair of shoes to wear with my dress. I wanted something nice but comfortable and sandal-like that I could wear the whole time I was there. I tried on everything in the whole store and finally decided on a pair. With the shoe on my foot I stuck it out to show my sister and she laughed and stuck out her foot. They were the same shoes. Then while we were waiting in line to pay for our stuff she started putting on some lipgloss. I couldn’t believe it…. I had the exact same kind/color in my purse. She also makes her coffee the same way I do. Well, I can’t have caffeine anymore so I don’t drink coffee but she is the only one who can make me a cup of coffee exactly the way I like it!

Okay, staying on the same theme of Nostalgia, I took a picture of a different type of box this time. This one is a shadow box frame.  (for some reason my post got snipped at this point the first time and I had to re-write the rest!)

Inside there are pictures of various times of my mom’s life from her senior dance to the birth of my first baby to smiling at my youngest son… to her in her flower garden happy as a clam!  There is a small pill box I found in her things that had a pretty flower design on top, a small book containing the “footprints” poem, and a cross stitch of a feedsack she was working on with the needle still hanging.  There is a cross necklace that I bought her for Christmas and various pins that she wore of angels and american flags – things that were important to her.  The cardinal was her favorite bird and that cardinal is designed to sit on a flower pot.  I bought her that one and a blue jay for myself.  The roses are from her funeral.

I’m still knitting my sweater and I’ve gotten several inches of stockinette done now.  I have to get it to 14 1/2 inches total before the pattern changes.  I really need to work on a baby blanket for my niece’s baby though.  The baby is here now and his blanket isn’t done yet!!!!  I think I’ll work on it tomorrow.

Blue jumped up in my lap again but this time I was ready!  I saw the signs LOL  I managed to get some pictures which is really hard to do because she is so close.  I put my iPhone in front of my laptop screen and switched the camera to the front screen (a very cool funtion!)

Then she turns belly up wanting her tummy rubbed!

Shhhh!  Don’t tell – she’s not allowed on the couch!

Then she got curious about the camera and we got a close up LOL